LMDE With Mate or MGSE

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

LMDE With Mate or MGSE

Postby andrew5859 on Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:00 am

I'm sure this has been asked somewhere else....I'm not sure where, but I'm running LMDE, tracking sid, unstable & experimental.....how or where can I get Mate or MGSE to put on this....is it possible to do this...thanks in advance....cheers


Andrew
Dell Latitude D810/2.26Ghz Intel/2GB Crucial/250GB WD/nVidia Quadro FX 1400 256MB/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE-Sid-MATE 32/64 Tracking Sid


Image
User avatar
andrew5859
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE With Mate or MGSE

Postby xenopeek on Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:53 am

Perhaps somebody has a hack, but it is not officially on LMDE yet. See the recent blogpost by Clem on Cinnamon, that also has a bit about your question:
Under the hood Cinnamon is forked from Gnome Shell and based on Mutter and Gnome 3. It’s already available for Linux Mint 12, Ubuntu 11.10, Fedora 16, OpenSUSE 12.1 and Arch Linux and will soon make its way (along with MGSE and MATE) to LMDE when Gnome 3.2 enters Debian Testing.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14661
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: LMDE With Mate or MGSE

Postby wayne128 on Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:11 am

Andrew,

LMDE+Mate

Here is the one you need, from GeneC.

viewtopic.php?f=198&t=87728

Read the thread, somewhere you should find the change of Mate repos from 'sid' to 'wheezy'. just follow the steps and you could get all of them installed and running.

I had two computers with two partitions running:
LMDE - Sid-gnome3 (less mint menu) + Mate, since the day I installed it and had since been running that.
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3314
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: LMDE With Mate or MGSE

Postby andrew5859 on Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:01 pm

Thank you Wayne & Vincent;

Unfortunately, cinnamon won't go onto my system seeing how its programming is in Ubuntu and we all know that Ubuntu and
Debian don't play nice together......right now, I'm facing another issue....I seemed to have lost the ability to right click on my desktop to change the background....any ideas
Dell Latitude D810/2.26Ghz Intel/2GB Crucial/250GB WD/nVidia Quadro FX 1400 256MB/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE-Sid-MATE 32/64 Tracking Sid


Image
User avatar
andrew5859
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA

Re: LMDE With Mate or MGSE

Postby andrew5859 on Sun Jan 15, 2012 5:21 pm

Hello Wayne:

Do you know of a way to change the background on the login screen....I'm not to particular about stripes....I'm like you, I'm running LMDE-Sid+MATE and I'm not to sure where to look for the file or folder where the greeting backgrounds are for MATE, I know where they are for gdm3.....any ideas...thank you in advance....cheers


Andrew
Dell Latitude D810/2.26Ghz Intel/2GB Crucial/250GB WD/nVidia Quadro FX 1400 256MB/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE-Sid-MATE 32/64 Tracking Sid


Image
User avatar
andrew5859
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests