VNC problems

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

VNC problems

Postby luisortega on Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:47 pm

Hello all, coming from Fedora and am really enjoying LMDE on my HTPC so far.

My problem: I'm using X11VNC and am having a problem with it trying to show too much.

The computer's hooked into the tv, and because of overscan issues I've had to change the resolution to 1740x980 to see all the desktop. The command I'm running is "x11vnc -usepw -ncache 10 -forever -tightfilexfer"

The problem is when I VNC into it the bottom bar is "mirrored," there's also a giant scroll bar along the right side of the viewer. When I look at connection info desktop geometry is listed as 1740x11760(!) Scrolling down through it, I see random bits and pieces of desktop.

I have no clue what could be wrong or why it's doing it :?
Attachments
Linux.jpg
VNC viewer in full screen, the bottom menu bar is not supposed to be there
Linux.jpg (18.04 KiB) Viewed 633 times
luisortega
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:26 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: VNC problems

Postby xenopeek on Tue Jan 10, 2012 7:18 am

Moved here by moderator
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14858
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: VNC problems

Postby krunge on Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:54 pm

If you get rid of the "-ncache 10" you won't have this problem:

http://www.karlrunge.com/x11vnc/faq.html#faq-client-caching

not all vncviewers will hide the cache region from you.
krunge
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:23 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests