[Solved] Not able to import pictures from camera

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[Solved] Not able to import pictures from camera

Postby Inkit on Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 pm

Hi all,
I have a problem with importing pictures from my Konica coolpix. Both the default gthumb and f-spot does not show up any removable media when I click on the import button. I have however never had this problem both with the earlier version of LMDE (I'm now using the new variant) as well as with mint 9 and 10. lsusb shows the camera listed so I am assuming that it has been mounted. I searched around a bit and found a number of people advising using a card reader. Well I will get one if I have to, but would like to see if I can do this some other way first.
Any and all help will be appreciated.
Last edited by Inkit on Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Inkit
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 4:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Not able to import pictures from camera

Postby DataMan on Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:49 am

You might want to take a look in /media to see if the camera is mounted there. I've seen a few examples where the device is mounted but does not report out at the desktop.

Also, I would strongly encourage you to part with a little bit of change and buy a decent external card reader (don't waste you money on the internal's :== junk). I've been using one for several years and have consistent results across multiple ops / versions etc.

-DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015
User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Indiana USA at /var/www

Re: Not able to import pictures from camera

Postby Inkit on Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:26 am

You might want to take a look in /media to see if the camera is mounted there.

Nope, it doesn't show up in /media. It was one of the first places I looked for it.
Also, I would strongly encourage you to part with a little bit of change and buy a decent external card reader

Like I said, if I have to, then I have to. I just want to know why something that used to work out of the box in the older version of LMDE does not do so now.
It's not so much the money as getting a good one. I know many of my friends who have gotten supposedly good ones only to find that they were fake Chinese made ones (not that the originals are made elsewhere, but you know what I mean). And since I live in a small town where this kind of thing is very common, I need to make a 6 hr up and down trip to the city nearest to me to get one that I am half way confident about. Just want to avoid it if possible.
Inkit
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 4:44 am

Re: Not able to import pictures from camera

Postby mockturtl on Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:22 am

See here too.

I've found Shotwell will see my camera when F-Spot does not.
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: Not able to import pictures from camera

Postby Inkit on Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:39 pm

Thanks for that mockturtl. Will give it a shot and report back.
Inkit
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 4:44 am

Re: Not able to import pictures from camera

Postby squeezy on Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:37 pm

mockturtl wrote:See here too.

I've found Shotwell will see my camera when F-Spot does not.


I can second that.
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: Not able to import pictures from camera

Postby whirly on Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:03 am

maybe you're missing a lib or a usb file?
i often get this/ i needed a bunch for the android, and a different bunch for my canon, and can't get the other, older, canon to work with usb but fine with card
picture ones are all over the place depending on if they're RAW or tiff jpegs or gifs and it's all proprietary
yours are probably jpegs so ask synaptics for jpeg, and see if somethings missing
i recall i needed exif and xloadimage
then some extra usb things
whirly
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:20 pm

Re: Not able to import pictures from camera

Postby Inkit on Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:36 am

I've found Shotwell will see my camera when F-Spot does not.

And so it does. Thanks for that guys.
Inkit
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 4:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests