Electric sheep

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Electric sheep

Postby Myself on Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:09 am

Anyone know how to get electric sheep to work as a screensaver in LMDE Xfce?
It installed but has added a separate listing on the menu.
Clicking on the menu and my laptop starts to work hard, CPUs at 100%, and fan working hard, but electric sheep doesn't work.
CPU = U9300, 4GB RAM, Intel GM45 Graphics @ resolution 1366x768, 128GB internal drive, 6TB external storage, Main OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4. 2nd OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4, Other installed OSs = Bodhi 1.4.0, Ubuntu 10.04 & 12.04, Mandriva & Windows.
Myself
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:42 pm
Location: Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Electric sheep

Postby whirly on Tue Feb 28, 2012 4:36 pm

how did you manage install?
do you have his versions of flam3 and wxwidgets?
whirly
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:20 pm

Re: Electric sheep

Postby Myself on Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:20 pm

Thanks for the reply.
I am slowly learning Linux.

I did the install via Terminal but have checked Synaptic and flam3 and wxwidgets are installed - installed and latests versions match.
CPU = U9300, 4GB RAM, Intel GM45 Graphics @ resolution 1366x768, 128GB internal drive, 6TB external storage, Main OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4. 2nd OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4, Other installed OSs = Bodhi 1.4.0, Ubuntu 10.04 & 12.04, Mandriva & Windows.
Myself
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:42 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Electric sheep

Postby whirly on Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:13 am

Do you mean autogen.sh made a new folder?
or did it really install and you have an option in applications like with vlc?
i managed to build some folders but they wouldn't complete the ./configure step
none of my stuff was the right versions
it doesn't seem to be supported real good right now.
what happens if you type electricsheep in terminal?
whirly
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:20 pm

Re: Electric sheep

Postby Myself on Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:10 pm

Clicking on the icon on the menu bar does nothing but as you suggested I typed electricsheep in Terminal and here is a picture of the result.
Screenshot2.jpg
Screenshot2.jpg (71.38 KiB) Viewed 844 times

Thanks
CPU = U9300, 4GB RAM, Intel GM45 Graphics @ resolution 1366x768, 128GB internal drive, 6TB external storage, Main OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4. 2nd OS = LMDE Xfce 64bit UP4, Other installed OSs = Bodhi 1.4.0, Ubuntu 10.04 & 12.04, Mandriva & Windows.
Myself
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:42 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Electric sheep

Postby whirly on Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:21 pm

in terminal again electricsheep-preferences
whirly
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:20 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests