Broadcom 4312 Firmware

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Broadcom 4312 Firmware

Postby ltnemo2000 on Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:59 pm

So. I recently did a now install and my wireless card didnt work.
this is odd because last time i installed LMDE it worked out of the box.
well, I installed the b-43fwcutter and the broadcom firmware installer but theres still nothing working.

Code: Select all
02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)
   Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 365e
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
   Memory at f0100000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
   Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information: Len=78 <?>
   Capabilities: [e8] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
   Capabilities: [d0] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
   Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
   Capabilities: [13c] Virtual Channel
   Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 00-00-00-ff-ff-00-ff-ff
   Capabilities: [16c] Power Budgeting <?>
   Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge

so, the b43-pci-bridge is the wrong driver, yes?
what do I do next?
thanks,
>G
ltnemo2000
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Broadcom 4312 Firmware

Postby kc1di on Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:40 pm

The b43 driver is not the right one for the 4312 chipset.
here is an article that will tell how to install Broadcom-sta (wl) for that card in LMDEhttp://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/161

you will have to remove the b43 and b43 firmware for this to work.
Good Luck
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1509
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Broadcom 4312 Firmware

Postby ltnemo2000 on Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:07 am

Thanks. worked a charm. I'll be sure to keep a copy of that script.
ltnemo2000
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: Broadcom 4312 Firmware

Postby kc1di on Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:28 am

ltnemo2000 wrote:Thanks. worked a charm. I'll be sure to keep a copy of that script.

Your Welcome Enjoy ;)
please mark the thread as solved -thanks :)
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1509
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 3 guests