Trackpad AND trackpoint

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Trackpad AND trackpoint

Postby dclement on Wed May 21, 2014 6:22 am

On a Dell Precision laptop, there's a touchpad and an trackpoint.

I have an entry for the touchpad under settings - mouse and touchpad (LMDE XFCE), but nothing for the trackpoint.

I thought it was unavoidable, until I saw a more recent (Dell Latitude) laptop, with similar hardware, which has both entries under the settings.

They're both LMDUP8 but the older laptop was installed from 2012 ISO, the latter from 2014. The hardware has to be a little different. How could I force the trackpoint to be detected on the Precision PC?

TIA - regards, Daniel
dclement
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Trackpad AND trackpoint

Postby woodsman on Wed May 21, 2014 2:20 pm

Just a wild guess: is the trackpoint enabled in the BIOS?
woodsman
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 10:22 pm

Re: Trackpad AND trackpoint

Postby dclement on Wed May 21, 2014 4:06 pm

I'm sorry I forgot to add something essential: the trackpoint does work. I suppose that it wouldn't if it was disabled in the BIOS. The only problem I have is, I can't customize it. (I'd like to accelerate it; it's definitely too slow.)

I'm rather thinking of a Xorg issue, because in the meantime I tried
Code: Select all
xinput list
and It doesn't appear there. I guess it needs to be somehow declared, but where?
dclement
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:59 am

Re: Trackpad AND trackpoint

Postby Neil Edmond on Wed May 21, 2014 6:12 pm

Trackpoint settings for my ThinkPad can be adjusted in the "mouse" section of "Control Center".
Neil Edmond
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:19 am
Location: N.E.AR USA

Re: Trackpad AND trackpoint

Postby dclement on Thu May 22, 2014 2:02 am

Granted, it should be there. Under XFCE it's Settings > Mouse and touchpad. Then the pointing devise must be selected from a drop-down list. And, on the Latitude laptop, I do have an option to select "trackpoint". But on the Precision laptop, this item is missing. So I'd say that on this laptop, I would need to "help" LMDE detect the trackpoint device.
dclement
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:59 am


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests