Lack of intel-microcode

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Lack of intel-microcode

Postby konrado5 on Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:25 am

Why LMDE has intel-microcode not installed by default? If it is not installed, there is error on boot:
Code: Select all
[ 0.878002] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-17-0a into memory [ 0.911476] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-17-0a into memory

apt-get install intel-microcode removes the problem.

Best regards
konrado5
konrado5
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:21 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby marcs on Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:52 am

Code: Select all
[ 0.878002] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-17-0a into memory [ 0.911476] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-17-0a into memory

Actually, this doesn't show that firmware is not installed. It only tells you that the agent loaded firmware microcode into memory. You have probobly pasted result of dmesg from the time you've had your firmware already installed.
Anyhow ... packages: firmware-linux-free and firmware-linux-nonfree should solve all firmware problems most of the time. Those are metapackages and they contain all sub-packages for particular devices. IIRC they are installed by default on every fresh LMDE setup. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Cheers
- marc
marcs
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:33 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby konrado5 on Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:01 pm

firmare-linux in LMDE doesn't contain intel-microcode. On pure Debian Testing firmare-linux contains intel-microcode.
konrado5
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby marcs on Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:19 pm

Hmm, true [and also strange]. I don't believe Mint Team do any special modifications to the packages, so I would presume they were not installed, as you previously stated.

Good catch, Konrado5. Let's hope intel-microcode firmware will be installed by default eventually [if it isn't being installed by default presently].
marcs
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:33 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby eanfrid on Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:44 pm

It is on purpose: the Debian policy regarding free software forbids the default install to load any non-free software. And the proprietary Intel microcode is obviously non-free...
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: there is no place like ~

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby konrado5 on Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:52 pm

But if I add non-free and contrib repositories on Debian intel-microcode is installed default if I install linux-firmware.
konrado5
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby eanfrid on Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:58 pm

Only "main" section is set up in an official default Debian install. So yes,
if I add non-free and contrib repositories on Debian
they will become available :)
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: there is no place like ~

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby konrado5 on Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:21 pm

On Linut Mint there are contrib and non-free repositories but linux-firmware doesn't contain intel-microcode.

Best regards
konrado5
konrado5
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby eanfrid on Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:29 pm

As you discovered by yourself intel-microcode (and amd-microcode) have their own proper packages
konrado5 wrote:apt-get install intel-microcode removes the problem.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: there is no place like ~

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby konrado5 on Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:48 pm

I think on LMDE intel-microcode should be installed by default. It should be contained in firmware-linux because with contrib and non-free repositories on Debian firmware-linux contains intel-microcode. On LMDE there are non-free packages by default however firmware-linux doesn't contain intel-microcode.
konrado5
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby Monsta on Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:42 am

konrado5 wrote:firmware-linux contains intel-microcode

It does not "contain" it, it recommends it in both LMDE and Debian Testing:
Code: Select all
$ apt show firmware-linux | grep Recommends
Recommends: intel-microcode, amd64-microcode

Check the "APT::Install-Recommends" setting in your system(s).
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2343
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby konrado5 on Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:21 am

Why does LMDE has disabled recommended packages by default? Pure Debian has enabled.
konrado5
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby Monsta on Tue Jun 24, 2014 12:51 pm

Why should it enable it?
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2343
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby konrado5 on Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:58 pm

Monsta wrote:Why should it enable it?

Because it is Debian default setting. Because it installs intel-microcode along with firmware-linux. Intel-microcode should be installed by default in LMDE.
konrado5
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby kurotsugi on Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:33 pm

Intel-microcode should be installed by default in LMDE.
I'm fully agree with it but enabling recommended package on apt is generally a bad idea for a rolling distro like LMDE. LMDE and debian is two different beast.
kurotsugi
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:54 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby konrado5 on Wed Jun 25, 2014 8:09 pm

kurotsugi wrote:enabling recommended package on apt is generally a bad idea for a rolling distro like LMDE.

Why?
konrado5
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Lack of intel-microcode

Postby kurotsugi on Thu Jun 26, 2014 4:41 am

less installed package means less breakage. if you disable apt's recommended package,
1. apt only install what essentially needed for your system. you'll got a smaller system which means better stability
2. apt won't calculate recommended package. it means the calculation will be easier and more precise. you'll got less broken package.
kurotsugi
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:54 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests