Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage on Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:50 am

hello every body,can someone help me how to install compiz effect or enable in my nvidia gt240 and i am sorry that i did a new post because i did not fully understand this post viewtopic.php?f=141&t=55165

i am newbie to lmde but it's faster than ubuntu

sorry for my bad English
thank you
Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 on Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:03 am

hello

open a terminal

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get purge xserver-xorg-video-nouveau xserver-xorg-video-nv


then
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dri libgl1-mesa-glx

then

Code: Select all
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg


then either reboot or press alt ctrl and Backspace.

see if that works
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage on Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:20 am

thanks for the reply but didn't work :(
Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 on Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:23 am

this post relates to you situation take a look at this

viewtopic.php?f=59&p=349939
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage on Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:55 am

thank you everybody,i installed the driver but still have the problem.when i click on any affect at compizconfig nothing happen why???
Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 on Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:58 am

take a look at the bottom of this post this might help I am still looking 8)
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage on Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:11 pm

thanks bro ,please if you find something ,tell me step by step tell now when i type inxi -G
Graphics: Card nVidia GT215 [GeForce GT 240] tty res: 80x24 Gfx Data: N/A for root user
Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 on Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:18 pm

viewtopic.php?f=141&t=55165

viewtopic.php?f=141&t=58998&start=0


Code: Select all
sudo apt-get purge nvidia*
sudo apt-get install --reinstall xserver-xorg-video-intel libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri xserver-xorg-core
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
compiz --replace  &


look at this
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby twa on Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:25 pm

djgage,
first try to follow this procedure and install the nVIDIA drivers
viewtopic.php?f=141&t=62340
if/when OK will tell U re compiz..
pls post
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage on Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:50 pm

still the problem is present! i did everything in the post above .i think driver or 3d is working but the problem in compiz i think but i still cant understand because i am newbie :(

omer@omerpc ~ $ glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 240/PCI/SSE2
GL_NV_conditional_render, GL_NV_copy_depth_to_color, GL_NV_copy_image,
GL_NVX_conditional_render, GL_NVX_gpu_memory_info,
omer@omerpc ~ $
Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 on Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:59 pm

viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56009&p=320518&hilit=fusion+icon#p320518

this one might be of Interest to you read this.
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage on Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:36 pm

thank you so much man ,fusion-icon is the best :D:D:D:D
Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 on Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:41 pm

Djgage wrote:thank you so much man ,fusion-icon is the best :D:D:D:D



you are very welcome please put solved in the subject line

And


Have A Very Merry Christmas :D :P :mrgreen:
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests