Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby mint123 on Wed Jul 20, 2011 6:59 pm

I recently added a 1GB swap file to a 2002 Sony Vaio with 512MB of RAM hoping I could hibernate properly. When going into hibernation, I get a failed to thaw error. THis is when going into hibernation, not coming out. I'm shown the error on a black screen, then the text disappears, then the desktop comes back on fully funtcional. I added the swap partition to fstab as below following the tutorial in the link. I do have a 1gb swap file in / and I do see it being used in System Monitor.

Code: Select all
 /swapfile none swap sw 0 0


http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=10941

I also have a UUID in fstab which looks like

UUID=[the number] swap none sw 0 0

For sleep, the computer will come out of sleep mode, but not load the desktop fully. What loads is only the Mint Menu and panel (no icons) and the desktop wallpaper. Everything is unresponsive. I can move the cursor but not left or right click. If i put the computer back into sleep and immediately revive it, all is well again and EVERYTHING works perfectly. It's a 1:2 failure rate.

I prefer to get hibernate working since a swap file is necessary on this computer. Google searching only reveals info dated around 2009 at the recent. Any advice please?
mint123
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby tdockery97 on Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:02 pm

You also need to edit (as root) the etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume file and change/place the new swap UUID there.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
Registered Linux User #520972
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4849
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby mint123 on Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:11 pm

thanks for the response. I made the change however now the computer gives a 'Swap Header Not Found' error and then goes back to the desktop.
mint123
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby mint123 on Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:39 pm

Is there anyone who has any ideas on how I can resolve this? Googling isn't giving me any results. I don't know what I'm doing wrong though. :? I still get "Swap Header Not Found" when trying to hibernate.
mint123
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby Dr.m0x on Sat Jul 23, 2011 2:32 am

tdockery97 wrote:You also need to edit (as root) the etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume file and change/place the new swap UUID there.


You forgot to mention that you have to run "update-initramfs -u" after making the change.

Sent from my Cyanogenmod 7 phone.
Image
User avatar
Dr.m0x
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:12 am

Re: Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby mint123 on Sat Jul 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Dr.m0x wrote:
tdockery97 wrote:You also need to edit (as root) the etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume file and change/place the new swap UUID there.


You forgot to mention that you have to run "update-initramfs -u" after making the change.

Sent from my Cyanogenmod 7 phone.


When I run the above command (as sudo), I get what's below which is confusing since the resume file clearly shows what's in fstab as the swap file & mount info.

Code: Select all
update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-5-686
/etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume: 1: none: not found


I went through Ubuntu's swap faq and redid everything, moved it into /mnt, changed the resume file but still the same results. Everything looks good until the very end when it throws up "Swap header not found!" and goes back to desktop. System monitor still shows the swap is being used so the system recognizes it. I'm nearly stumped on this.
mint123
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby wayne128 on Sat Jul 23, 2011 8:59 pm

I do not use hibernation but read many people had trouble with it.

At the same time lots of people reported to have it fixed with liquorix kernel.

such as most recent one
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=76789

may be you can test it out with liquorix kernel, YMMV.
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3284
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby mint123 on Sat Jul 23, 2011 9:40 pm

I actually prefer using sleep over hibernation but on this comp, the desktop doesn't fully load one out of ever two times I resume from sleep. It's a perfect 'every other time' situation. If I could get sleep working, I'd love to stick with that and forget hibernation, but as far as I can tell from my reading, the sleep problem is just a bug that has no real resolution. I figured that since other people have had the swap header problem it would be more likely to fix hibernation with a conf file edit or something simple.


Edit: I looked through the Liqourix install info and it's set to Sid. I have this computer's repos pointed to Squeeze. Can I just change the liqourix package to' debain squeeze main future'? This is from here.
http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/158

Could either of these sleep or hibernate issues being solved by a 2.6.33 or 2.6.35 kernel update instead of liquorix?
mint123
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby xircon on Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:45 am

I had problems with resume from sleep, but fixed it (I hope!):

Edit /etc/default/grub and add your swap file to this line:

Code: Select all
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="resume=/dev/sda7 vga=792"


Obviously changing the drive to match yours. So far it appears to be working.

Cheers

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby luis.nando on Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:40 pm

Take a look at this post:

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=141&t=75318

no positive results tough.
ASUS UL30a2 LMDE 64bit
User avatar
luis.nando
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby xircon on Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:16 am

luis.nando wrote:Take a look at this post:

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=141&t=75318

no positive results tough.


Thanks for that Luis, my /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume had the wrong UUID, so I changed it and will report back as my approach, though an improvement, still fails :(

Cheers

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby mint123 on Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:19 am

Well I've still not found any solution yet. I've tried generic kernels 2.6.35-10 and 2.6.39-3 and still nothing. 39 couldn't build my ndiswrapper either so i'm back to the original 32. editng the grub line mentioned above didn't have any effect either. I'm getting sick of messing with it so I guess this computer is destined to not have sleep or hibernate.
mint123
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby bikrus on Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:08 am

Strange. I have hibernate and suspend worked. Just tested. My LMDE laptop have:

$ uname -a
Linux mycomp 2.6.39-2-686-pae #1 SMP Tue Jul 5 03:48:49 UTC 2011 i686 GNU/Linux

$ dpkg -l | grep linux-image-686
ii linux-image-686-pae 2.6.39+35.1 Linux for modern PCs (meta-package)

$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport
deb-src http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport #Added by software-properties
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free
deb-src http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free

"Update Manager" -> "Update Pack Info" -> "Latest Update Pack used by this system: 2"

Swap present.

$ cat /etc/fstab
...
UUID=438e97e6-f175-4a1b-8b2f-f4af986077ff none swap sw 0 0
...

$ cat /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume
RESUME=UUID=438e97e6-f175-4a1b-8b2f-f4af986077ff

$ free
...
Swap: 8193020 0 8193020

$ sudo blkid
...
/dev/sda6: UUID="438e97e6-f175-4a1b-8b2f-f4af986077ff" TYPE="swap"

I use XFCE and gdm3. Have no separate record in grub to map to swap.

Maybe this information could help.
bikrus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 6:43 am

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby mint123 on Tue Jul 26, 2011 5:10 pm

Thanks for all that bikrus. The differences between your readouts and mine are the kernel and your packages are set to testing, mine are squeeze. ALso your UUID numbers are different obviously and I'm on Gnome 2. I have a swap file though, not a UUID assigned partition. I dont know if that makes any difference but I'm done with this hibernation thing now.

I've noticed that if I let the system put itself to sleep with the timer set in Power Settings, it wakes up perfectly fine. It's when I put the computer to sleep via the power button or the Shudown - Suspend on screen buttons that the chances of it waking up alright become iffy. That's not a huge problem really, and for a 10 year old laptop I'm actually surprised it's the only wall I've run into.

Thank you everyone for your assistance.
mint123
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: Hibernate & Sleep Problems

Postby martinwebster on Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:50 am

For the record, I had similar problems after a clean install of LMDE on an HP Mini 5102. The cause of the problem was with /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume. For some reason this had the wrong UUID. I resolved this by copying the correct UUID (blkid) and pasted this to the file. Finally, I ran sudo update-initramfs -u.
As ever,
.\\artin

Martin Webster • Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/martinwebster
AOL: tristanwember • Wordpress: http://martinwebster.eu/
Jabber: martinwebster@xmpp.org.uk • Twitter: http://twitter.com/TristanWember
User avatar
martinwebster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:01 am
Location: United Kingdom

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests