Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby sgtguthrie on Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:35 am

Hi all, I am currently running LM11 main edition, but would like to try out LMDE. I tried to boot from the live cd, but I couldn't get past a blinking cursor.

My guess is that my computer is too new. I just got an HP DV6T Quad Edition with an Intel Core i7 2630QM. I know the last Live cd was in December, before Sandy Bridge was released.

Is there a way to do it being that the baked in kernel pre-dates Sandy Bridge support? Or is there a new iso coming soon? I'm fine with LM11, but would really like to try the Debian Flavor.

Thanks in advance!
sgtguthrie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby LifeInTheGrey on Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:45 am

sgtguthrie wrote:Hi all, I am currently running LM11 main edition, but would like to try out LMDE. I tried to boot from the live cd, but I couldn't get past a blinking cursor.

My guess is that my computer is too new. I just got an HP DV6T Quad Edition with an Intel Core i7 2630QM. I know the last Live cd was in December, before Sandy Bridge was released.

Is there a way to do it being that the baked in kernel pre-dates Sandy Bridge support? Or is there a new iso coming soon? I'm fine with LM11, but would really like to try the Debian Flavor.

Thanks in advance!


Was it a blank cursor and nothing else? Or was it a line of text that ended with boot: and a blinking cursor following? Because sometimes the liveCD hangs there, and all you need to do is type in "live" and hit enter.
the beauty of linux is that the rabbit hole goes as deep as you want it to go.
LifeInTheGrey
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:38 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby zerozero on Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:49 am

A respin should be near, and with the 39.3 kernel
http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1781

wait for the respins of LMDE which will come this summer and in which these features will be fully integrated.


edit: in the meantime i saw LifeInTheGrey's answer, it's worth a try as well 8)
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6467
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby sgtguthrie on Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:09 pm

Thanks for the speedy replies guys! I'll try again, if it doesn't work, I'll wait for the respin.

You guys make the LM community awesome... I really appreciate it!
sgtguthrie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby sgtguthrie on Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:50 pm

It gives me a bunch of lines saying "starting..." a bunch of stuff, the last of which is samba. Then it goes to a blank screen with blinking cursor where it hangs and the disk stops spinning. I tried typing "live" with no luck.

Now I can press alt+f5 to get to the command line. Is there anything I can try from there?


sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT with Tapatalk
sgtguthrie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby eiver on Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:24 pm

After reading the HP page on the laptop it seems it has Radeon graphics on board, but Sandy Bridge already has integrated Intel graphics on the CPU itself, which means you have 2 GPUs on your laptop. Perhaps you can force which GPU do you use in BIOS? If yes then maybe having fun with this option will allow you to boot.
I am unfamiliar with the AMD solution, but with Nvidia cards you have something like Nvidia Optimus, which is not suppored by Intel nor Nvidia, but support for Linux is under development by the community. Maybe AMD also has something equivalent to Optimus? Just loose ideas...
User avatar
eiver
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:51 am

Re: Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby sgtguthrie on Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:57 pm

eiver wrote:After reading the HP page on the laptop it seems it has Radeon graphics on board, but Sandy Bridge already has integrated Intel graphics on the CPU itself, which means you have 2 GPUs on your laptop. Perhaps you can force which GPU do you use in BIOS? If yes then maybe having fun with this option will allow you to boot.
I am unfamiliar with the AMD solution, but with Nvidia cards you have something like Nvidia Optimus, which is not suppored by Intel nor Nvidia, but support for Linux is under development by the community. Maybe AMD also has something equivalent to Optimus? Just loose ideas...


I don't think that's the problem though. It always boots livecd's.

I don't have that option in my bios, so once I install a distro I blacklist radeon and just use integrated graphics. The last lmde disk was released in December, and the first Intel Sandy Bridge processor was in January. It took Linux a while to integrate Sandy Bridge support, so I'm pretty sure the old kernel is to blame.

Please correct me though if I'm wrong :-)

Thanks...

sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT with Tapatalk
sgtguthrie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby Hannes Hochreiner on Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:36 am

I'd also be in favour of a new iso of LMDE. I really like the distro and have been using it for several months now. However, with my new laptop (i5 second generation), I won't be able to install it.

I tried yesterday to boot using the 64-bit live cd of LMDE prepared in 12/2010 and got some text and then the blinking cursor. On the other hand, using linux mint 11 the laptop booted without a problem.

If somebody could point me to some resource on how to install LMDE on sandy bridge machines it would be highly appreciated. Alternatively, if there is a description available on how to prepare a LMDE live cd, I might give that a try.
Hannes Hochreiner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby LifeInTheGrey on Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:41 am

Hannes Hochreiner wrote:I'd also be in favour of a new iso of LMDE. I really like the distro and have been using it for several months now. However, with my new laptop (i5 second generation), I won't be able to install it.

I tried yesterday to boot using the 64-bit live cd of LMDE prepared in 12/2010 and got some text and then the blinking cursor. On the other hand, using linux mint 11 the laptop booted without a problem.

If somebody could point me to some resource on how to install LMDE on sandy bridge machines it would be highly appreciated. Alternatively, if there is a description available on how to prepare a LMDE live cd, I might give that a try.


Haha did you try my recommendation above?

Text and blinking cursor = type live and press enter
the beauty of linux is that the rabbit hole goes as deep as you want it to go.
LifeInTheGrey
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:38 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby Hannes Hochreiner on Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:47 pm

LifeInTheGrey wrote:Haha did you try my recommendation above?

Text and blinking cursor = type live and press enter


I did not have a chance. I played around with the laptop in the shop before I read your post. For my laptop to arrive it will still take a few days. However, as soon as I get it, I'll try your recommendation. I would really much prefer to keep using LMDE.
Hannes Hochreiner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby sgtguthrie on Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:24 pm

Hannes Hochreiner wrote:I'd also be in favour of a new iso of LMDE. I really like the distro and have been using it for several months now. However, with my new laptop (i5 second generation), I won't be able to install it.

I tried yesterday to boot using the 64-bit live cd of LMDE prepared in 12/2010 and got some text and then the blinking cursor. On the other hand, using linux mint 11 the laptop booted without a problem.

If somebody could point me to some resource on how to install LMDE on sandy bridge machines it would be highly appreciated. Alternatively, if there is a description available on how to prepare a LMDE live cd, I might give that a try.


I'm going to install on an older computer, update it, then use remastersys to make an installation disk. Once I have a chance to try it, I'll post back how it went.
sgtguthrie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby Hannes Hochreiner on Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:08 pm

sgtguthrie wrote:I'm going to install on an older computer, update it, then use remastersys to make an installation disk. Once I have a chance to try it, I'll post back how it went.


That would be great. I was wondering whether it would be sufficient to simple substitute "casper/initrd.lz" and "casper/vmlinuz" from Linux Mint 11?
Hannes Hochreiner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby Hannes Hochreiner on Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 pm

Hannes Hochreiner wrote:
LifeInTheGrey wrote:Haha did you try my recommendation above?

Text and blinking cursor = type live and press enter


I did not have a chance. I played around with the laptop in the shop before I read your post. For my laptop to arrive it will still take a few days. However, as soon as I get it, I'll try your recommendation. I would really much prefer to keep using LMDE.


I now tried and sadly it did not work. Thanks though for the tip. It was worth a try.
Hannes Hochreiner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby Hannes Hochreiner on Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:24 pm

Yet another idea: The current version of Linux Mint Xfce 64-bit was released in April 2011. So I would think it comes with a kernel that's new enough. I'll give it a try tomorrow. Switching from Xfce to Gnome should only be a matter of installing a packages, right?
Hannes Hochreiner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby sgtguthrie on Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:39 pm

Hannes Hochreiner wrote:Yet another idea: The current version of Linux Mint Xfce 64-bit was released in April 2011. So I would think it comes with a kernel that's new enough. I'll give it a try tomorrow. Switching from Xfce to Gnome should only be a matter of installing a packages, right?



Main edition works too though. I installed the main edition, then upgraded to the 3.0 kernel. I'm not sure if the kernel upgrade did much for me, but everything works fine. I'm talking about using LMDE though. I'd like to try the Debian based one.
sgtguthrie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby Hannes Hochreiner on Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:19 am

sgtguthrie wrote:
Hannes Hochreiner wrote:Yet another idea: The current version of Linux Mint Xfce 64-bit was released in April 2011. So I would think it comes with a kernel that's new enough. I'll give it a try tomorrow. Switching from Xfce to Gnome should only be a matter of installing a packages, right?



Main edition works too though. I installed the main edition, then upgraded to the 3.0 kernel. I'm not sure if the kernel upgrade did much for me, but everything works fine. I'm talking about using LMDE though. I'd like to try the Debian based one.


I understand that you would like to use a Debian based edition of Linux Mint, so do I. It was my understanding though that there are currently two editions of Linux Mint based on Debian: LMDE and Linux Mint Xfce. I might be wrong but that's the impression I got from the LMDE download page and different blog posts. Since the Debian based version of Linux Mint Xfce was released later, I guess it has a newer kernel.
Hannes Hochreiner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby sgtguthrie on Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:26 am

Hannes Hochreiner wrote:
sgtguthrie wrote:
Hannes Hochreiner wrote:Yet another idea: The current version of Linux Mint Xfce 64-bit was released in April 2011. So I would think it comes with a kernel that's new enough. I'll give it a try tomorrow. Switching from Xfce to Gnome should only be a matter of installing a packages, right?



Main edition works too though. I installed the main edition, then upgraded to the 3.0 kernel. I'm not sure if the kernel upgrade did much for me, but everything works fine. I'm talking about using LMDE though. I'd like to try the Debian based one.



I understand that you would like to use a Debian based edition of Linux Mint, so do I. It was my understanding though that there are currently two editions of Linux Mint based on Debian: LMDE and Linux Mint Xfce. I might be wrong but that's the impression I got from the LMDE download page and different blog posts. Since the Debian based version of Linux Mint Xfce was released later, I guess it has a newer kernel.



Ahh, gotcha... Thanks. I didn't realize that had the Debian base. I'll check it out :-)
sgtguthrie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby sgtguthrie on Fri Jul 29, 2011 3:01 pm

XFCE is a no go. It ships with 2.6.32 for some reason, and there are no Sandy Bridge drivers prior to 2.6.37...
sgtguthrie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby zerozero on Fri Jul 29, 2011 3:08 pm

the LMDE-xfce iso was released about one week before the upgrade from the 32 to the 38 kernel :) call it a timing for you :lol:
but anyway the respin with the 39.3 should be just around the corner
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6467
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Sandy Bridge support for LMDE??? Newer iso maybe?

Postby Hannes Hochreiner on Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:05 am

LMDE-xfce did start, but aborted the install at random times, so I could not get a working system. I am now back on Linux Mint 11 with a manually installed 3.0 kernel (had some lock-ups with the kernel it ships with).

When the new debain spins are out, I'll be happy to try them.
Hannes Hochreiner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests