lmde screen resolution problems

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

lmde screen resolution problems

Postby davedarkblade on Thu Sep 15, 2011 10:38 am

Hi folks! I have a little problem with the screen resolution: i have a monitor 1280x1024 but lmde set it as 1024x780 (this is the higher option avaible). I think it is a driver trouble because this problem comes with other distro too. How can i do for install the latest proprietary driver or fix this problem? I have an nvidia GeForce G210. Thanks a lot!
davedarkblade
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:30 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: lmde screen resolution problems

Postby Gryphus One on Tue Oct 04, 2011 9:55 am

I have a similar problem: I just installed LMDE a few days ago, and in my case the problem is that SOMETIMES the resolution is bad (you see things like stretched, like when you are using Windows XP and you haven't installed the graphic drivers yet), while other times it is fine. I.e, it's not a constant problem, but it has a random nature which makes it even more annoying. I will post two screenshots to let you compare as soon as I get the correct resolution in another boot.
Gryphus One
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:24 am

Re: lmde screen resolution problems

Postby lleiria on Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:24 am

I had a similar problem, almost burned my brain trying to solve it, I learned a lot about drivers, resolution, EDID and so on and finaly...
The problem was the monitor's data cable that was not properly adjusted, so it didn't pass to the graphics card the monitor's information. So before you worry with the drivers, try to properly adjust the cable on both ends.
Hope that helps!
Image
lleiria
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:07 pm

Re: lmde screen resolution problems

Postby Gryphus One on Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:17 pm

lleiria wrote:I had a similar problem, almost burned my brain trying to solve it, I learned a lot about drivers, resolution, EDID and so on and finaly...
The problem was the monitor's data cable that was not properly adjusted, so it didn't pass to the graphics card the monitor's information. So before you worry with the drivers, try to properly adjust the cable on both ends.
Hope that helps!


In my case that's clearly not the case, because in first place I'm using a laptop, and in second place because if it were a problem with the cable, I would have the very same problem in Windows too.
Gryphus One
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:24 am

Re: lmde screen resolution problems

Postby lleiria on Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:21 pm

Cryphus one,

In that case ,it depends on your graphics card. If it is nvidia or ATI, you can use the sgfxi script, which allways worked fine with me.
See http://smxi.org/site/install.htm#sgfxi, follow carefuly the instructions. And good luck!
Image
lleiria
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:07 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests