ATI Radeon x1650 Graphics Card [ SOLVED ]

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Re: ATI Radeon x1650 Graphics Card

Postby AlbertP on Wed Sep 21, 2011 9:29 am

xrandr is supposed to show all DVI, VGA, and TV-out connectors available on your card. But it just shows 'default'.

If you want to be sure that KDM doesn't come back, uninstall it from Package Manager. Then you'll automatically get GDM.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: ATI Radeon x1650 Graphics Card

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:05 am

Hi AlberP,

Thanks for that. I have been on my game for about a hour now but it is just the same, perhaps it is something else in LMDE that is causing the problem but I have no idea at all.

As for xrandr I am still getting the same output.

gordon@a7n8x ~ $ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 1400 x 1050, current 1400 x 1050, maximum 1400 x 1050
default connected 1400x1050+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1400x1050 0.0*
gordon@a7n8x ~ $

:D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: ATI Radeon x1650 Graphics Card

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:54 am

Hi AlbertP,

Just to let you know I have spent all morning on windows xp, I switch my hard drives across, with the same results as I get on LMDE so I can only assume that it is something to do with my motherboard or graphics card that is causing the problem but I have no idea which.

Thanks for all your help, I think we at least got the 3D part working anyway

Thanks again :D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: ATI Radeon x1650 Graphics Card

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Tue Sep 27, 2011 4:08 am

Hi AlbertP

Hope you still check this out.

The 3D part is working now but may accelerator is not. I checked it out by running a 3D game ( Kubrick ) which was as jerky as everythig else that I have tried. I have searched the Internt for how to get it running but without success. I know the driver is there as I have tried several commands out that say it is. One of them said that it was either slow or none can't remember the command though and can't find it again either. Found it on an ubuntu site. Any ideas on how to get it running ?? :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: ATI Radeon x1650 Graphics Card

Postby AlbertP on Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:46 pm

As I said before, ATI do not support this card anymore. You can't get better performance.

The unofficial Radeon driver does not have very good performance. Low-end Radeon cards are even slower.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: ATI Radeon x1650 Graphics Card

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:30 pm

Hi AlbertP,

Just finished doing a complete re-installation yet again and ran the commands that you suggested and got the results that you expected this time I think.
here they are

gordon@a7n8x ~ $ inxi -Gx
Graphics: Card ATI Radeon X1650 Pro X.Org 1.10.4 Res: 1440x900@75.0hz
GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV530 GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.10.3 Direct Rendering Yes
gordon@a7n8x ~ $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1440 x 900, maximum 8192 x 8192
VGA-0 connected 1440x900+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 410mm x 257mm
1280x1024 75.0 60.0
1440x900 75.0* 60.1
1280x960 60.0
1152x921 76.0
1280x800 74.9 59.8
1152x864 75.0
1024x768 75.1 70.1 60.0
832x624 74.6
800x600 72.2 75.0 60.3 56.2
640x480 72.8 75.0 66.7 60.0
720x400 70.1
S-video disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
gordon@a7n8x ~ $

I guess everything is correct now. Thanks for all your help :D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: ATI Radeon x1650 Graphics Card

Postby AlbertP on Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:12 am

Looks good. Now it detects the different outputs (VGA, DVI, S-video) on your Radeon card.

Please edit the first post and add [solved] to the title when you don't need any more help.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests