AIGLX doesn't work in new xorg 1.11.1 (Radeon HD4870)

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

AIGLX doesn't work in new xorg 1.11.1 (Radeon HD4870)

Postby HTD on Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:22 pm

Code: Select all
$ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE | grep GLX
[  4302.723] (EE) AIGLX error: Calling driver entry point failed
[  4302.741] (EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering

Why is that? Of course rendering is painfully slow now.
HTD
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:31 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: AIGLX doesn't work in new xorg 1.11.1 (Radeon HD4870)

Postby zerozero on Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:32 pm

a bit to read :lol: viewtopic.php?f=198&t=67502&start=1200#p477594 from there until you get tired
there's a fix (but afaik) is only for nvidia: downgrade to the backport xserver
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6482
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: AIGLX doesn't work in new xorg 1.11.1 (Radeon HD4870)

Postby HTD on Thu Oct 13, 2011 2:32 am

We can close it - some things happened and now I have working Gallium3D driver.

What happened? First, I switched to Debian unstable repo and received update of xserver-xorg-core (and related).
Then - what's most important - i ran sgfxi which performed lots of operations, including removing junk after previous drivers.
Then - I removed uvesafb module. (It provided framebuffer for text console, but it's redundant with open driver,
and it's possible it caused fglrx crash, but I haven't tested it yet - since sgfxi author says catalyst 11.9 won't work with
xserver 1.11.1, but well, also to let him know if someone succeeds with it).

Well, it's still not as fast as fglrx, but it's fast enough to use for work. Definitely fast enough to run GNOME 3.

Always run install / uninstall scripts for fglrx driver - it leaves quite a mess, and reinstalling packages doesn't fix it.
Sgfxi leaves it's own mess sometimes, but sometimes it cleans it up.

With Gallium3D KDE allows to start all desktop effects and GNOME 3 runs smoothly. Transparency blur doesn't work. It worked only in one configuration - GNOME 2 + Compiz + fglrx. KDE runs way slower than GNOME 3.
HTD
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 7:31 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests