Thinkpad E320 mic has static

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Thinkpad E320 mic has static

Postby NimS on Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:56 pm

Hiya,

Firstly I've got to say I'm sooo enjoying Mint LMDE. My first sustained linux experience and I'm loving it.

I've solved heaps of little issues but this one has me beat.

When I use my mike (either internal or external) there is static whenever I speak, distorting my voice. Barely usable. Unpleasant for my skype partners.

The closest I have found to a solution is this post:
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Installat ... kPad_SL400

but it talks about recompiling the kernel. That's one step beyond anything I've done. Is it fraught with danger? Any other solutions?

btw, it's an Conexant 20671 SmartAudio HD. I can't find the linux drivers anywhere. (and it works fine on windows7 so it's not hardware)

thanks for any help that can be offered!
NimS
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Thinkpad E320 mic has static

Postby xenopeek on Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:04 pm

Moved here by moderator
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15285
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Thinkpad E320 mic has static

Postby wizard on Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:45 pm

I am having a similar problem. I am running LMDE 12 AMD64 and motherboard is a MSI 870A-G55. The front and back sound output ports are working fine, but only the front input port works, and poorly at that. My voice can be understood when I speak, but there is a lot of static. I use a Create Labs Tactic 3D Alpha headset. It uses analog connectors but has a USB adaptor as well. As expected there are no linux drivers so I am using the analog connectors. Until recently I have been using Windows 7 on this machine and have had no problems with my headset, but I was using the USB adaptor. I am in the middle of doing some updates so I will boot into Windows 7 and test out the analog input when the updates are done.

Input device:
$ arecord -l
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Output devices (if this helps):
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC892 Digital [ALC892 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
wizard
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:23 pm

Re: Thinkpad E320 mic has static [solved]

Postby NimS on Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:06 am

I've been playing around and one thing I did was reinstall LMDE. The microphone works perfectly!

So a solution was inadvertently found...
NimS
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:33 pm


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests