multi core cpu support

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

multi core cpu support

Postby eddie on Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:55 pm

Having popped the cpugraph plugin on to my panel I was a bit puzzled why it was only showing 1 cpu core.

Turned out the default Kernel was i486 only--I had to pull in the i686pae kernel.

Probably explains why the system wasnt quite as 'peppy' as I expected.

If your system seems a bit on the sluggish side check which Kernel you have installed.

May I please express my gratitude to those Linux Wizards that provide so much technical help to the community.

eddie
eddie
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:06 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: multi core cpu support

Postby renold on Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:07 pm

How much memory do you have installed and what cpu? i686 is an enhanced version of x86 so you are still left with the 3.4GB memory limit. Just wanted to mention that if you do have a multi core cpu it could likely be 64 bit in which case x86_64 could be a better fit.
By utilizing online file storage you won't lose your files if you have a computer problem such as hard disk failure.
renold
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:03 am

Re: multi core cpu support

Postby eddie on Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:31 pm

Its an 'old' amd 64x2 (skt939) with 2 gig of RAM--I only use it as a backup/hacking PC.

Having said that,I have just realized what a plonker I am! I downloaded the 32 bit ISO,not realizing it would have defaulted to a single core cpu setup.

I'm pretty certain other 32 bit distro's support >1 cpu core--in fact my main machine running Xubuntu is configured as 32 bit but runs both cores.

eddie
eddie
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:06 am

Re: multi core cpu support

Postby gavinhc on Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:27 pm

In the 201109 respin for LMDE, the 32 bit version defaults to a single-processor kernel. It's trivial to make it work with the multicore version. reference
AMD Athlon II X4 630, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 430 - 64-bit LMDE (Gnome3) tracking testing, 64-bit Archlinux, 32-bit Windows XP
Aluminum Unibody MacBook - MacOS X 10.7 "Lion"
gavinhc
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:53 pm
Location: Canada

Re: multi core cpu support

Postby gosa on Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:43 pm

renold wrote:How much memory do you have installed and what cpu? i686 is an enhanced version of x86 so you are still left with the 3.4GB memory limit. Just wanted to mention that if you do have a multi core cpu it could likely be 64 bit in which case x86_64 could be a better fit.


If I'm not completely wrong there is one minor flaw in your reasoning - at least as a comment to OP.

Isn't the pae (physical address extension) suppose to take care of the issue with the memory limit?
gosa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Spain


Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests