Ethernet doesn't work

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Ethernet doesn't work

Postby yashletn on Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:16 am

Hello,
Since I updated LMDE 2013 to LMDE 2014, my ethernet connection doesn't work anymore: when I plug in the ethernet cable, nothing happens. My wifi is OK.
When I click on the network icon, I get :
Ethernet network : disconnected

Note that my wired connection worked fine on LMDE 2013.

Code: Select all
lspci
returns
Code: Select all
Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation pro/100 VE Network Connection (rev02)


Code: Select all
ifconfig
returns eth0, lo and wanl0 parameters.

How could I repair my ethernet connection?
yashletn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:35 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Ethernet doesn't work

Postby killer de bug on Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:47 am

Are you using Mate or Cinnamon? Could this problem be related to the network applet... ?
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. [Isaac Newton]
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1925
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Ethernet doesn't work

Postby jahid on Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:58 am

can you post the output of
Code: Select all
ifconfig -a
jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Ethernet doesn't work

Postby yashletn on Fri Mar 28, 2014 2:55 am

Thank you for your advices.

Today, I start my LMDE 2014 / Mate (64bits) and before asking ifconfig -a, I try once again to plug in my ethernet cable...
and it works!!
I don't understand. I just changed the output on my ADSL modem (the other still works fine).

In case the problem comes back tomorrow, I show what ifconfig -a gives :
Code: Select all
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:a0:d1:6b:fd:4f 
          inet adr:192.168.0.16  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Masque:255.255.255.0
          adr inet6: fe80::2a0:d1ff:fe6b:fd4f/64 Scope:Lien
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:23 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:70 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
          RX bytes:3771 (3.6 KiB)  TX bytes:12007 (11.7 KiB)

lo        Link encap:Boucle locale 
          inet adr:127.0.0.1  Masque:255.0.0.0
          adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:136 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:136 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
          RX bytes:11472 (11.2 KiB)  TX bytes:11472 (11.2 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:19:d2:5e:42:39 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2344 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2131 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
          RX bytes:2198313 (2.0 MiB)  TX bytes:375353 (366.5 KiB)
yashletn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:35 am

Re: Ethernet doesn't work

Postby killer de bug on Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:07 am

Glad you solved it by yourself. :lol:
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. [Isaac Newton]
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1925
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Austria


Return to Ethernet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest