hotspot doesn't work

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

hotspot doesn't work

Postby Mithrandir on Mon Mar 17, 2014 5:17 pm

Hi, in gnome shell desktop the network manager applet permit to open a setting network's window and to select the hotspot mode for the wireless device.
I have not problems generally, it is easy, but my laptop has a problem. It's strange, it start to configure the hotspot "mith" and after it stop without terminate the operation. Sometimes in the bottom appears the message that was not possible connect to the network.
After the attempt to start the hotspot I must to reiniciate the wlan0 for detect the access points present.
After the attempt to set the hotspot ifconfig is this:
Code: Select all
 $ sudo ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:4332 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4332 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:788384 (769.9 KiB)  TX bytes:788384 (769.9 KiB)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol 
          inet addr:1.2.52.17  P-t-P:10.64.64.64  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:3593 errors:33 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3150 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:3060549 (2.9 MiB)  TX bytes:512309 (500.3 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr c4:85:08:1d:21:ee 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:106801 errors:0 dropped:6 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:13930 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:16700587 (15.9 MiB)  TX bytes:2610533 (2.4 MiB)


and iwconfig
Code: Select all
 $ sudo iwconfig
ppp0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=15 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off

The dmesg command doesn't show nothing and I don't know how I can verify the situation.
Thx for help in advance
Attachments
snapshot3.png
during attempt to set the hotspot
snapshot2.png
it seems that it is configuring the hotspot
snapshot1.png
but it stops
Mithrandir
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:14 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: hotspot doesn't work

Postby pixelplus on Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:19 pm

Hey,

I would not blame iwlwifi driver because (as dmesg shows) everything is ok.... maybe hotspot is disabled for maintanace/whatever reason and you just have to wait till its running again?
pixelplus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:51 am

Re: hotspot doesn't work

Postby Mithrandir on Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:08 pm

pixelplus wrote:Hey,

I would not blame iwlwifi driver because (as dmesg shows) everything is ok.... maybe hotspot is disabled for maintanace/whatever reason and you just have to wait till its running again?


Hi pixelplus,

I believe too that is not a driver or firmware problem. I want to make available my mobile connection through the wifi device, configuring my wifi device as hotspot. Is not an external hotspot, is my own wifi device that must became an hotspot. I do it with another pc of mine without problems :|
Mithrandir
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:14 am

Re: hotspot doesn't work

Postby pixelplus on Mon Mar 24, 2014 6:22 am

Ah now I see :) what the device you want to use as a hotspot? What OS does it run on? Android?
pixelplus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:51 am

Re: hotspot doesn't work

Postby Mithrandir on Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:31 pm

Hi, I want use my wifi device as hotspot to share my mobile connection, I use LMDE
Mithrandir
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:14 am


Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests