Wireless says disconnected [SOLVED]

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Wireless says disconnected [SOLVED]

Postby samriggs on Sat May 21, 2011 9:21 am

[SOLVED]

Well howdy all
all went insane trying to get lmde in this toshiba nb500 but I got it all done then it happened :cry: I had set up wireless by downloading the driver since it wouldn't read from the repository and making it that was all in good and it worked fine, until the dist-upgrade happened, then it went kapoost.
it shows wireless enabled, but it says wireless disconnected and won't show any connections through ethernet it works though.
so something happened in the upgrade that killed it or shut it off or something, I tried fn +f8. I tried reinstalling the driver and remaking it. the router works fine for the other three computers here and here be the lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation N10 Family DMI Bridge
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation NM10 Family LPC Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH7 Family SATA AHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 02)
07:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 05)

Here is some responses from the system using eternet(which is how I am typing this)
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-- Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)
==> PCI ID = 10ec:8176 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo no wireless extensions.

eth1 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=0 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr=2347 B Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 1c:75:08:81:1f:61
inet addr:192.168.2.5 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::1e75:8ff:fe81:1f61/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2824 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2504 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:3187400 (3.0 MiB) TX bytes:400175 (390.7 KiB)
Interrupt:43 Base address:0xe000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:480 (480.0 B) TX bytes:480 (480.0 B)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Reloading /etc/samba/smb.conf: smbd only.
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server: 192.168.2.1
Address: 192.168.2.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.19
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.20
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.16
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.17
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.226.18

and the same with ethernet pulled out
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-- Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)
==> PCI ID = 10ec:8176 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo no wireless extensions.

eth1 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=0 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr=2347 B Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 1c:75:08:81:1f:61
inet6 addr: fe80::1e75:8ff:fe81:1f61/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2834 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2528 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:3188666 (3.0 MiB) TX bytes:405254 (395.7 KiB)
Interrupt:43 Base address:0xe000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:480 (480.0 B) TX bytes:480 (480.0 B)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached


Any help would be appreciated, this one has me dumfounded.
Thanks in advance
Sam

edit: I tried to load it from the previous version before the upgrade and the wireless works no problem, so it was in the upgrade.
When I went into recovery mode for the upgrade version this came up in the boot logs screen before it loaded.
(I don't know if it will help it might)
Setting up ALSA.....Warning: 'alsact1 restore'
failed with error message 'Unknown hardeware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek ALC259" HDA:10ec0269, 1179fdc6, 00100100" "0x1179 "0xfdc0"
Hardware is initialized using a guess method
alsact1: set_control: 1255: failed to obtain info for control #5 (No such file or directory
##it says the same thing for #6, #9 and #10 ####
......[13.6.31683] fuse init(API version 7.16)


I don't know if this would help but I thought it might.
Thanks again for any help in advance
Sam
Last edited by samriggs on Sat May 21, 2011 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Windows: the worst system for the most money, Linux: the best system for free"
Registered Linux User #545430
SolydK
User avatar
samriggs
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 843
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Wireless says disconnected

Postby samriggs on Sat May 21, 2011 1:19 pm

:oops: I am moron :lol:
I forgot to check the driver kernel and it was outdated with the upgrade, I installed the updated driver and it all works now.
Can't believe I didn't check that first.
anyone having the same issues with realtek wireless just go HERE
get your updated driver and make and install it as per this post: Fix yer realtek driver issue

Anyhow that was stupid of me hopefully this can resolve someone else from going through the issue.

Sam
"Windows: the worst system for the most money, Linux: the best system for free"
Registered Linux User #545430
SolydK
User avatar
samriggs
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 843
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Canada


Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests