[Solved] Wireless: No Networks Available?

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[Solved] Wireless: No Networks Available?

Postby Carl on Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:19 pm

I have a Tenda W322P 11N Wireless PCI Adapter which appears to be detected on the latest Mint Debian RC 64 bit but doesn't show any wireless networks... only "disconnected" where wireless networks would usually be listed :?

the output of lspci is

Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780/RS880 PCI to PCI bridge (int gfx)
00:07.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 3)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [IDE mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3c)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc 760G [Radeon 3000]
01:05.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RS780 Azalia controller
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
03:05.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. Device 3062


which appears to show that my card uses the Ralink corp. Device 3062 chipset which is covered by the rt2800pci driver? (http://wiki.debian.org/rt2800pci) which as far as I know is installed :cry:

ifconfig output:

Code: Select all
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:30:67:9b:66:43 
          inet addr:192.168.1.125  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::230:67ff:fe9b:6643/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:8208 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:7239 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:8422973 (8.0 MiB)  TX bytes:1181447 (1.1 MiB)
          Interrupt:41 Base address:0xa000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:124 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:124 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:10240 (10.0 KiB)  TX bytes:10240 (10.0 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr c8:3a:35:c4:3b:9e 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


output of inxi -F

Code: Select all
System:    Host carl-pc Kernel 2.6.39-2-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Debian Edition
CPU:       Single core AMD Sempron 145 (-UP-) cache 1024 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm) bmips 5600.13 clocked at 800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card ATI 760G [Radeon 3000] X.Org 1.10.2.902 Res: 1280x1024@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS780 GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.10.3 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio:     Card-1 ATI RS780 Azalia controller driver HDA Intel BusID: 01:05.1
           Card-2 ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver HDA Intel BusID: 00:14.2
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1 Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller driver r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI at port e800 BusID: 02:00.0
           Card-2 Ralink corp. Device 3062 driver rt2800pci v: 2.3.0 BusID: 03:05.0
Disks:     HDD Total Size: 640.1GB (0.6% used) 1: /dev/sda SAMSUNG_HM641JI 640.1GB 27C
Partition: ID:/ size: 20G used: 3.4G (18%) fs: ext4 ID:/home size: 564G used: 284M (1%) fs: ext4
           ID:swap-1 size: 3.15GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 27.5C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes 122 Uptime 17 min Memory 387.0/3714.3MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23


output of iwlist scanning

Code: Select all
lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth1      Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlan0     No scan results

Anyone?
Last edited by Carl on Fri Sep 09, 2011 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
[AMD Sempron 145 2.8GHz + Unlocked 2nd Core|ATI Radeon™ HD3000 Graphics|4GB DDR3|Biostar A780L3L]
Image
User avatar
Carl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:20 pm
Location: West Sussex, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Wireless: No Networks Available?

Postby Carl on Thu Sep 08, 2011 3:31 pm

I've got it working! I followed these instructions on the Ubuntu Forums http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p= ... ostcount=4 although I only had to use the first section and after reboot it was working fine!

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install --reinstall linux-headers-$(uname -r) build-essential dkms
wget http://media.cdn.ubuntu-de.org/forum/attachments/2739482/DPO_RT3562_3592_3062_LinuxSTA_V2.4.1.1_20101217_prepared.tar.gz
tar xvf DPO_RT3562_3592_3062_LinuxSTA_V2.4.1.1_20101217_prepared.tar.gz
cd DPO_RT3562_3592_3062_LinuxSTA_V2.4.1.1_20101217_prepared
sudo make
sudo make install
echo "blacklist rt2800pci" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf


now anyone care to say how this worked? :lol:
[AMD Sempron 145 2.8GHz + Unlocked 2nd Core|ATI Radeon™ HD3000 Graphics|4GB DDR3|Biostar A780L3L]
Image
User avatar
Carl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:20 pm
Location: West Sussex, UK

Re: [Solved] Wireless: No Networks Available?

Postby mrjoeyman on Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:09 pm

I can't say why because Im kind of a noob myself, but the Ubuntu Forum is off the chain!
mrjoeyman
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:17 pm

Re: [Solved] Wireless: No Networks Available?

Postby Cheshihvost on Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:02 am

Try this nice and easy tutorial
http://steveswinsburg.wordpress.com/201 ... omment-473
It worked great for my PCI wireless card Tenda W311P (chipset RT3060). It should work for W322P (chipset RT3062), as they use the same driver.
Linux Mint 11 "Katya" Gnome 32-bit.
Cheshihvost
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:49 am


Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests