[SOLVED] Network-Manager issues

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] Network-Manager issues

Postby ozgta on Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:55 am

Hi,
Using LMDE.
I have been using Debian for a few years now and have noticed that Network-Manager is often unable to handle static IP addresses and so I have always switched to WICD.
In the past it was easy to remove NM which took only NM-gnome with it.
Now that gnome 3 is here if I try to remove NM it wants to also remove 'mint-meta-debian' also, no doubt this would be a disaster.

Is there a way is use terminal to safely remove only NM and NM-gnome?
Last edited by ozgta on Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ozgta
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 5:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Network-Manager issues

Postby richyrich on Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:58 am

mint-meta-debian is only a small text file with a list of applications inside. It is safe to remove.
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Network-Manager issues

Postby altair4 on Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:28 am

You know, Network-manager always perplexed me when it came to setting static ip addresses until I found this post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p= ... ostcount=3

10.04 usesNetwork manager by default.You may setup static IP in NM.Please try this
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces

Edit the file so that it contains only these two lines
Code: Select all
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

save the file and close

If your NM icon is not there on top right of the panel(two opposite arrows) Restart your PC
Now configure NM as follows

Right-click on the NM icon(two opposite arrows on top right) and then click on Edit Connections.
Select the tab, wired
select the ethernet connection you want and click edit(you can add the ethernet connection if not listed)
select ipv4
method-manual
click add
address 192.168.1.110
mask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1
then hit enter
DNS 4.2.2.1
then click apply
note:The IP and DNS are examples Please substitute your values

It's the then hit enter part, there for seemingly no reason, that appears to be the "magic" that makes this work.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5521
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Network-Manager issues

Postby Oscar799 on Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:20 pm

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8700
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Network-Manager issues

Postby ozgta on Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:55 pm

Many thanks altair4,
All is good now.
ozgta
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 5:34 am


Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests