[SOLVED] LAN: computers visible, their shares not.

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Marsjanin
Level 1
Level 1

Post by Marsjanin »

Hello.

I decided to wrote here after many searches and tries of workarounds. Please forgive me my English mistakes and my nervous tone. I really like LMDE, but I don't know, who yet talk to, to resolve my problems. I'm asking for a bit of patience and not giving me replies like "go away and change distro". :]

I may sound some fussy in my first words, but please try to explain the point for me as for complete newbie. Because I am a bit more advanced than complete newbie, and I really can't understand why i *have* to do any workarounds, and the Mint team can't resolve the issue from one update pack to another and so on. :(

Issue #1: Win XP Pro based network, everything is open for anybody (with user/pass combination only) on our "server". If I use *any* Windows computer, the guest's also, I can see, read and write all the PCs and their shares. On my laptop with LMDE I can not. Why? I can see in "network" at Caja all the computer names, but not their shares. The point is: Why this work out of the box on my boss' laptop with Ubuntu? What's wrong with LMDE now? As far as I know, on similar networks also the "naked" Debian works OK, but I didn't test that by myself.

I can use pyNeighbourhood, and for file sharing I'm using it, but… but why, dammit? Why, if the Ubuntu (or maybe even pure Debian too) can do it all without any addon? The another pain with pyNeighbourhood is I can write on any mounted resource only from my root account (sudo etc.). Why, and what for? I can even mount as 'rw' any resource and then open it as root… i mean i haven't mount that as root. And the second problem with pyNeighbourhood is that, it can't be used for issue #2: