DNSMASQ on LMDE problem

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

DNSMASQ on LMDE problem

Postby igsimon on Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:47 pm

I have followed the install instructions on many web pages https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Dnsmasq to set up DNSMASQ for local caching. It work under UBUNTU. I get it to work by editing the files and local sudo /etc/init.d/dnsmasq restart but when i reboot the prepend command seems not to work and /etc/resolve written by network manager does not include the 127.0.01 line. I am not sure what to change to fix this. I have searched web with no luck. :roll: :roll:
igsimon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:42 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: DNSMASQ on LMDE problem

Postby SimonTS on Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:00 pm

Wouldn't it be easier to download the Debian version of DNSMASQ - http://wiki.debian.org/HowTo/dnsmasq
User avatar
SimonTS
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom

Re: DNSMASQ on LMDE problem

Postby igsimon on Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:08 pm

I am sorry my refenece was to ubuntu guide but it is more detailed then debian local cache section on what to put in what files - It will not work as network manager creates resolve file without 127.0.0.1 and this seems to indicate that it is ignoring the prepend command from /etc/dhcp3/dhclient.conf. Yes I loaded via synaptic in LMDE and I am not trying file form UBUNTU either.



Ira
igsimon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: DNSMASQ on LMDE problem

Postby SimonTS on Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:02 pm

Just having a quick poke around, found this;-

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1251384
"The source of the problem is most likely that ppp client fails to respect the prepend domain-name-servers line in dhclient.conf. The resolution should probably be included in some FAQ about PPP and dnsmasq (or similar local dns cache) (I found it in a debian bug), but because I had to (again) google this up when setting up a new Ubuntu (10.4 amd64) laptop and landed in this thread, here's the missing magic:
sudo apt-get install resolvconf"

Also a registered bug on Debian - http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=596507
Seems to suggest that you are putting the prepend in the wrong place;-
"Apparently, the 'new' location for the 'dhclient.conf' file is '/etc/dhcp', as opposed to the old location '/etc/dhcp3', which is where the old dhcp3-client put things."
User avatar
SimonTS
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom

Re: DNSMASQ on LMDE problem

Postby igsimon on Tue Jul 19, 2011 5:00 pm

thanks the :

Also a registered bug on Debian - http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=596507
Seems to suggest that you are putting the prepend in the wrong place;-
"Apparently, the 'new' location for the 'dhclient.conf' file is '/etc/dhcp', as opposed to the old location '/etc/dhcp3', which is where the old dhcp3-client put things."

fixed problem
igsimon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: DNSMASQ on LMDE problem

Postby SimonTS on Tue Jul 19, 2011 5:52 pm

No problem - it may well be that Ubuntu wtill keeps it in the original place, while Debian have moved things because they can...
User avatar
SimonTS
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom


Return to Other networking topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests