Why does DECnet node want to change my MAC address. (Solved)

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Why does DECnet node want to change my MAC address. (Solved)

Postby det4100 on Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:34 pm

I'm a little confused about the necessity of having the DECnet configuration program to default to changing the MAC address of my ethernet card. One would think that after the initial install of the libdnet package, any future updates would retain the same configuration. After some research, I'm still a little fuzzy on understanding why I would even require DECnet since, (I assume) most, if not all of my network communications travel over the TCP/IP stack. My network is a simple one router muti-PC Linux/windows SAMBA-shares setup. Unless DECnet is used by programs such as RhythmBox for media sharing??? I have assigned IP addresses for all of my machines, so this change in MAC address is causing havoc with SAMBA and my router. I guess my question is, do I have to run the DECnet config program to successfully update this package, and do I need this "network protocol" or did I inadvertently install it at some time and it is not necessary?

det4100
Last edited by det4100 on Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
det4100

Running Mint Debian
User avatar
det4100
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 9:51 am
Location: New York

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Why does DECnet node want to change my MAC address.

Postby Gerd50 on Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:13 pm

It's not only you who is confused about it. This package came in some weeks ago.

viewtopic.php?f=141&t=67502&p=457295&hilit=dnet#p457295

Today it was updated with the same result as weeks ago. Configure now means new mac adress(es) with the result
network connections are dead.

I deinstalled dnet-common after this package still seems to be buggy.
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: Why does DECnet node want to change my MAC address.

Postby det4100 on Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:46 pm

I deinstalled dnet-common after this package still seems to be buggy.


I'm thinking of doing the same thing. I just want to be sure I don't need it for some obscure network thingamabob that I might be using.

It's just a hassle reassigning IP addresses and rechecking host files and such in case I confuse the machines with one another.

det4100

edit - I looked at that post also. It mentioned the problem but didn't go into much detail.
det4100

Running Mint Debian
User avatar
det4100
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 9:51 am
Location: New York

Re: Why does DECnet node want to change my MAC address.

Postby ellipse55 on Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:38 pm

I had the same problem, and was able to fix it using the information found in this post and its comments:
http://www.fantaghost.com/2010/06/eth0-mac-address-fixed-on-aa0004000a04/

Best, Pierre.
User avatar
ellipse55
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Why does DECnet node want to change my MAC address.

Postby det4100 on Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:27 pm

I owe you a cold glass of your favorite beverage Pierre. Solved that problem. Thanks for taking the time to answer.

det4100
det4100

Running Mint Debian
User avatar
det4100
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 9:51 am
Location: New York


Return to Other networking topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests