Sound problem on Lenovo W530 -- LMDE edition

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
blackbear

Sound problem on Lenovo W530 -- LMDE edition

Post by blackbear »

Hi all,
sorry for any annoyance..I am pretty new with Linux Mint LMDE but I 'm an old Debian user (since 10 years)
LinuxMint provides me a great experience with my new Lenovo W530 laptop, it runs well excepted the sound support ...
No sound at all, I checked (double or triple check) the mixer settings and channels are not mute...

This is the lspci output (|grep -i audio)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation Device 0e1b (rev a1)

(lshw does not give much more details)

I m stuck with that problem for a while and I hope you to give me some clues

Thanks for your support
Regards
jerome
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
cgrosso

Re: Sound problem on Lenovo W530 -- LMDE edition

Post by cgrosso »

Hi,

Same problem here with the w530.
I'm using mint 14 w/cinnamon, i have sound when i plug in the headphones... Even when mint starts up the speakers plays the initial sounds... after this the laptop speakers stays completely muted... it looks like a conflict somewere... In alsamixer the volume settings are all ok, but the problem remains.

Did someone find a workaround\solution for this?

Thanks
last

Post by last »

blackbear wrote:Hi all,
sorry for any annoyance..I am pretty new with Linux Mint LMDE but I 'm an old Debian user (since 10 years)
LinuxMint provides me a great experience with my new Lenovo W530 laptop, it runs well excepted the sound support ...
No sound at all, I checked (double or triple check) the mixer settings and channels are not mute...

This is the lspci output (|grep -i audio)