Movies lag and stutter after playing for a while

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
abcdef

Movies lag and stutter after playing for a while

Post by abcdef »

Hello,

I'm new to LMDE, and have a recurrent problem with movie playback. I use the Cinnamon version.
Movies start playing fine when I open them in any media player. After a certain amount of time, which can vary, the movie starts stuttering and lagging so much that it becomes unwatchable. Closing and reopening the player does not help. Switching to another media player does not help either. The only remedy is to reboot, logging off does not help. Upon reboot, everything is back to normal, until it starts again. Having to reboot every 15 minutes to watch a movie is extremely frustrating.
I have noticed that some movies play back fine until the end. So far I cannot identify any common features: they use different codecs, with different resolutions and different file sizes. Yet some play fine, some do not.
I have tried many media players, among which VLC, banshee, totem, and mplayer. The problem exists with all of them. Mplayer sometimes display the message "your system is too SLOW", but not always. Movies can lag and stutter without the message being displayed.
Note that my computer is old. It's a 2005 laptop, with a 1.2 GHz centrino and 1GB RAM, intel graphics. But when using Windows, all movies play find in any media player. Using option -framedrop in mplayer doesn't help either.
Also note that I've installed many linux-based systems on the machine, including several debian and ubuntu distributions. The problem exists with all of them.

Consequently, I suppose that something is wrong either with the way X is configured, or with a coded, or my graphic driver. But in truth, I don't know. How can I diagnose the problem?