[solved] No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[solved] No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:37 am

Hi everyone,

I read already tons of topics how to solve this issue, nothing does help.
First, when I bought my laptop I install LMDE there was sound and everything.
Now thru headphones only. And no one could explain, whats going on.
Is it kernel problem, or driver problem or application problem?
All tips only: type this or remove pulseaudio install alsamixer or put some text into .conf file, guys it does not help at all!!!
The only thing that happened sound disappear from headphones. So I re-install LMDE one more time.
Another thing that I did not get, If I start live-USB distro no matter which LMDE KDE (Mint) XFCE there is no sound as well (I did not change there anything).
I thought that it is hardware problem. Unless I came to one company they connect my Laptop to network and make Network boot with Debian Arch+KDE sound work just fine.

Laptop Compaq Presario CQ62 OS: Linux Mint Debian Edition (LMDE)

uname -a

Linux presariocq62notebookpc-laptop 2.6.32-5-686 #1 SMP Tue Jun 1 04:59:47 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux

lspci

01:05.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RS880 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4200]

Need anything else, ask me I will send immediately.

PS do not tell me what to do acc to ubuntu, most of this does not work
Last edited by alfavictory on Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby inktitan on Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:25 pm

ok. It is possible the update had knocked out the needed driver but the re-install should have fixed that. So lets try (save any open files first)
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
alsamixer <---to make sure the volume is up
dmesg |grep sound <-----post this if it still is not working
inxi -A <---post this so I can see your audio device
Proud hugger of Penguins.
Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Nvidia GT 240, Linux Mint Debian
“...not the strongest...survives, nor the most intelligent... It is...the [one] most adaptable to change.”~C.D.
Please do not post new topics in [solved] topics
User avatar
inktitan
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:10 am

inktitan wrote:ok. It is possible the update had knocked out the needed driver but the re-install should have fixed that. So lets try (save any open files first)
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
alsamixer <---to make sure the volume is up
dmesg |grep sound <-----post this if it still is not working
inxi -A <---post this so I can see your audio device

I make all you said, first command (dmesg) give nothing back
Second (inxi)
Audio: Card-1 ATI RS880 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4200] driver HDA Intel
Card-2 ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)driver HDA Intel
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.21

Wait for a reply
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby inktitan on Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 am

OK I am not sure I see anything wrong there except maybe the ATI Intel combo. So lets try the simple stuff. First right click the volume control and make sure it is not muted in any of the settings.
Image
Image
Does your alsamixer look like this?
Image
This is what pulse audio should look like approximately
Image
Image
Proud hugger of Penguins.
Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Nvidia GT 240, Linux Mint Debian
“...not the strongest...survives, nor the most intelligent... It is...the [one] most adaptable to change.”~C.D.
Please do not post new topics in [solved] topics
User avatar
inktitan
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:05 am

inktitan wrote:OK I am not sure I see anything wrong there except maybe the ATI Intel combo. So lets try the simple stuff. First right click the volume control and make sure it is not muted in any of the settings.

All checked.
Problem still exist.
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby inktitan on Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:39 pm

Ok. Go ahead and post your lsmod. And look over you dmesg to see if happens to mention anything about your audio. You said headphones were working? Can you get them to work now? I will have to look around for this. I found a bug report about this card on a Ubuntu system. Not the same issues. They had erratic sounds. I didn't see a fix. Some Ubuntu fixes will work on Debian systems.
Proud hugger of Penguins.
Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Nvidia GT 240, Linux Mint Debian
“...not the strongest...survives, nor the most intelligent... It is...the [one] most adaptable to change.”~C.D.
Please do not post new topics in [solved] topics
User avatar
inktitan
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:17 pm

inktitan wrote:Ok. Go ahead and post your lsmod.

Module Size Used by
aes_i586 6816 1
aes_generic 25738 1 aes_i586
parport_pc 15799 0
ppdev 4058 0
lp 5570 0
parport 22554 3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp
sco 5857 2
bridge 33019 0
stp 996 1 bridge
bnep 7444 2
rfcomm 25171 0
l2cap 21705 6 bnep,rfcomm
bluetooth 36319 6 sco,bnep,rfcomm,l2cap
powernow_k8 9832 0
cpufreq_conservative 4018 0
cpufreq_stats 1940 0
cpufreq_powersave 602 0
cpufreq_userspace 1480 0
binfmt_misc 4907 1
fuse 43829 1
ext3 94204 1
jbd 32169 1 ext3
loop 9765 0
snd_hda_codec_atihdmi 1687 1
snd_hda_codec_realtek 163194 0
snd_hda_intel 16787 1
joydev 6739 0
snd_hda_codec 46002 3 snd_hda_codec_atihdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
arc4 974 2
snd_hwdep 4054 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss 28671 0
snd_mixer_oss 10461 1 snd_pcm_oss
ecb 1405 2
snd_pcm 47226 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_midi 3576 0
snd_rawmidi 12513 1 snd_seq_midi
ath9k 238393 0
snd_seq_midi_event 3684 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 35463 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
mac80211 123574 1 ath9k
radeon 510316 2
snd_timer 12258 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
ath 6014 1 ath9k
ttm 33386 1 radeon
snd_seq_device 3673 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
drm_kms_helper 18301 1 radeon
snd 34375 13 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
uvcvideo 45342 0
drm 112088 4 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
cfg80211 87661 3 ath9k,mac80211,ath
rfkill 10264 4 bluetooth,cfg80211
i2c_algo_bit 3497 1 radeon
videodev 25545 1 uvcvideo
soundcore 3450 1 snd
psmouse 44657 0
snd_page_alloc 5045 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
v4l1_compat 10250 2 uvcvideo,videodev
i2c_piix4 7076 0
shpchp 21220 0
led_class 1757 1 ath9k
ac 1640 0
pcspkr 1207 0
evdev 5609 18
wmi 3575 0
battery 3782 0
serio_raw 2916 0
i2c_core 12696 6 radeon,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_algo_bit,videodev,i2c_piix4
pci_hotplug 18065 1 shpchp
processor 26327 1 powernow_k8
video 14605 0
output 1204 1 video
button 3598 0
ext4 257803 1
mbcache 3762 2 ext3,ext4
jbd2 56155 1 ext4
crc16 1027 2 l2cap,ext4
sg 15968 0
sd_mod 25969 3
crc_t10dif 1012 1 sd_mod
sr_mod 10770 0
cdrom 26487 1 sr_mod
ohci_hcd 16880 0
ahci 27270 2
ehci_hcd 27851 0
libata 115745 1 ahci
r8169 24860 0
mii 2714 1 r8169
usbcore 98453 4 uvcvideo,ohci_hcd,ehci_hcd
nls_base 4541 1 usbcore
scsi_mod 101421 4 sg,sd_mod,sr_mod,libata
thermal 9206 0
thermal_sys 9378 3 processor,video,thermal
inktitan wrote:And look over you dmesg to see if happens to mention anything about your audio.

Is there is more precise command, cause listing is too long and I can't find any mention of audio or sound or ATI SB etc... there :(
inktitan wrote:You said headphones were working? Can you get them to work now? I will have to look around for this. I found a bug report about this card on a Ubuntu system. Not the same issues. They had erratic sounds. I didn't see a fix. Some Ubuntu fixes will work on Debian systems.

As I said from previous install I broke it up (don't ask me, I don't know how) Now (after re-stage) Headphones works perfect, speakers are not :(

Thanks in advance for help
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby inktitan on Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:53 pm

sorry dmesg was the wrong way to go. Try
Code: Select all
sudo cat /var/log/messages

this will give you a list of messages with dates. Maybe not the most helpful tool. But it could help narrow it down. This is a hard topic to find specific information on. I will keep looking
Proud hugger of Penguins.
Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Nvidia GT 240, Linux Mint Debian
“...not the strongest...survives, nor the most intelligent... It is...the [one] most adaptable to change.”~C.D.
Please do not post new topics in [solved] topics
User avatar
inktitan
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:21 am

inktitan wrote:sorry dmesg was the wrong way to go. Try
Code: Select all
sudo cat /var/log/messages

this will give you a list of messages with dates.

Dec 12 06:25:03 presariocq62notebookpc-laptop rsyslogd: [origin software="rsyslogd" swVersion="4.6.4" x-pid="1308" x-info="http://www.rsyslog.com"] rsyslogd was HUPed, type 'lightweight'.

This is the only message I get.
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby inktitan on Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:58 am

Ok try it this way
Code: Select all
sudo cat /var/log/messages |less

if less doesn't work you can try tail. This is supposed to let you view the error reports.

Of course if you really only have one message the other commands should reflect just that. Meaning your PC does not know what went wrong :(.
My guess is that you have an ATI card with that Intel driver assigned to it. I don't know how common that is but it looks awfully suspicious.

to remove the hda_intel type
Code: Select all
sudo modprobe -r snd_hda_intel
Keep in mind that this is taking the assigned driver/module out of your kernel. You will need to replace it with the proper driver for your sound card. Which is proving to be hard to find. This might mean it is supposed to use the Intel driver. I am kind of at a loss here.
Proud hugger of Penguins.
Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Nvidia GT 240, Linux Mint Debian
“...not the strongest...survives, nor the most intelligent... It is...the [one] most adaptable to change.”~C.D.
Please do not post new topics in [solved] topics
User avatar
inktitan
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:58 am

inktitan wrote:Ok try it this way
Code: Select all
sudo cat /var/log/messages |less

if less doesn't work you can try tail. This is supposed to let you view the error reports.

Of course if you really only have one message the other commands should reflect just that. Meaning your PC does not know what went wrong :(.
My guess is that you have an ATI card with that Intel driver assigned to it. I don't know how common that is but it looks awfully suspicious.

to remove the hda_intel type
Code: Select all
sudo modprobe -r snd_hda_intel
Keep in mind that this is taking the assigned driver/module out of your kernel. You will need to replace it with the proper driver for your sound card. Which is proving to be hard to find. This might mean it is supposed to use the Intel driver. I am kind of at a loss here.

You are absolutely right. The same message appear only :(
To remove Intel driver from kernel, how to replace with ATI one? I will keep it as it is. Before solution came in to "our" mind :) At least I have headphones ;)
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby inktitan on Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:58 am

It is a shame you have to use the headphones though. I will try to find a solution to this. I actually think this may be a bug. You are right top keep the Intel driver. I saw another post where the fix was to install the hda_intel. But that does not help when you already have it. You can run these two lines every day
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade


Hopefully this can work itself out as these things sometimes do.
Proud hugger of Penguins.
Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Nvidia GT 240, Linux Mint Debian
“...not the strongest...survives, nor the most intelligent... It is...the [one] most adaptable to change.”~C.D.
Please do not post new topics in [solved] topics
User avatar
inktitan
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:36 am

inktitan wrote:Hopefully this can work itself out as these things sometimes do.


Here is another question, if I delete driver from kernel and make dist-update, does it take another driver or will put sound_hda_intel back?
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby inktitan on Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:31 pm

alfavictory wrote:
inktitan wrote:Hopefully this can work itself out as these things sometimes do.


Here is another question, if I delete driver from kernel and make dist-update, does it take another driver or will put sound_hda_intel back?

It might ignore the driver issue since you would have been the one to remove it. From what I have read I think the Intel driver is the one you need and the problem is elsewhere.
Proud hugger of Penguins.
Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Nvidia GT 240, Linux Mint Debian
“...not the strongest...survives, nor the most intelligent... It is...the [one] most adaptable to change.”~C.D.
Please do not post new topics in [solved] topics
User avatar
inktitan
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:25 am

inktitan wrote:It might ignore the driver issue since you would have been the one to remove it. From what I have read I think the Intel driver is the one you need and the problem is elsewhere.


Dear Friend,

One more question as to more experienced person. I had tried couple more distros with kernel-2.6.35 and everything was fine.
How can I change my kernel-2.6.32 to 2.6.35? Maybe this will help...
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby inktitan on Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:21 pm

Well that is a good thought. It is a bit outside the scope of my knowledge but here is a link that should help you out: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=40185
Proud hugger of Penguins.
Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Nvidia GT 240, Linux Mint Debian
“...not the strongest...survives, nor the most intelligent... It is...the [one] most adaptable to change.”~C.D.
Please do not post new topics in [solved] topics
User avatar
inktitan
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:25 am

Dear "inktitan"
Did you try LMDE 201101 32-bit re-spin edition?
Clem told about new kernel, I boot up with live-USB in terminal make uname -r and get 2.6.32.5??? all still the same?
Sound still don't work and I am worry how many years passed by until 2.6.35 at least appear.
With this kernel I have no such problem (in Mint 10 Main Edition for example)
Initial question was is version of kernel change during install?
Wait for your or somebody who read this thread response :)
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby inktitan on Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:54 am

Have you tried the link above? It shows how to upgrade the kernel so you can use your OS with a different kernel.
Proud hugger of Penguins.
Pentium D 2.8Ghz, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Nvidia GT 240, Linux Mint Debian
“...not the strongest...survives, nor the most intelligent... It is...the [one] most adaptable to change.”~C.D.
Please do not post new topics in [solved] topics
User avatar
inktitan
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby alfavictory on Tue Jan 04, 2011 4:51 am

inktitan wrote:Have you tried the link above? It shows how to upgrade the kernel so you can use your OS with a different kernel.

Yes, I do.

It is explain how to do for Ubuntu, and I don't know why but most of those kernels doesn't work for me.
It ask for some packages which is not available in Debian repo at all.
How to switch off those modules I don't know.
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: No sound LMDE Compaq Presario CQ62

Postby water spirit on Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:22 am

Code: Select all
gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf


And add the following line:

options snd-hda-intel model=generic
Image
Image
water spirit
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:32 am
Location: Queensland

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests