no sound from lmde

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Wed Dec 22, 2010 11:47 am

Hi. I followed the topic "how to solve sound problems in lmde" pasting the script in asound.conf but after reboot I can't get any sound
i have a
Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)

any idea how to solve this HUGE problem?
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby seeley on Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:34 pm

Hi!
Supposing you've tried "alsamixer" and "pavucontrol" I suggest to run:
Code: Select all
gnome-alsamixer

Reading the script I found a different way than I normally use /Julia:
I edit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf - but maybe in LMDE you don't have this file?
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:06 pm

yes there it is. alsa-base.conf
what do you do in that file?
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby seeley on Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:52 pm

Hi!
Please run in a Terminal:
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

Password
Add at the end:
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=auto

save, reboot,
then run "alsamixer" in a Terminal window to unmute and adjust ALSA channels.
If this step was unsuccessful, then replace that line with
"options snd-hda-intel model=name of your computer"...
...reboot...
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Wed Dec 22, 2010 3:02 pm

it seems that my card is supported from kernel 2.6.33 on... how can i get a 2.6.33 or 2.6.35 kernel installed in lmde? is there a unofficial repo where i can get a newer kernel??
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby tdockery97 on Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:06 pm

You can install the Liquorix Kernel: http://liquorix.net/
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4909
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:23 am

i tried vaious solutions included the liquorix kernel. but I have the same result. I can only hear from headphones but nothing fron internal speakers of my laptop. any idea how to direc the output from the jack to the speakers?
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:57 am

SOLVED! I installed the kernel 2.6.37 in experimental. reboot. reconfigure pulseaudio as in you "how to solve audio issues" then choose the right output and added
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1
in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby seeley on Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:39 am

Hi giorsat!
Even though I did not solve your problem, I'm asking you to add [solved] to the subject line, so that people who want to help others can do that as fast as can be.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests