no sound from lmde

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Wed Dec 22, 2010 11:47 am

Hi. I followed the topic "how to solve sound problems in lmde" pasting the script in asound.conf but after reboot I can't get any sound
i have a
Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)

any idea how to solve this HUGE problem?
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby seeley on Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:34 pm

Hi!
Supposing you've tried "alsamixer" and "pavucontrol" I suggest to run:
Code: Select all
gnome-alsamixer

Reading the script I found a different way than I normally use /Julia:
I edit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf - but maybe in LMDE you don't have this file?
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1523
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:06 pm

yes there it is. alsa-base.conf
what do you do in that file?
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby seeley on Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:52 pm

Hi!
Please run in a Terminal:
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

Password
Add at the end:
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=auto

save, reboot,
then run "alsamixer" in a Terminal window to unmute and adjust ALSA channels.
If this step was unsuccessful, then replace that line with
"options snd-hda-intel model=name of your computer"...
...reboot...
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1523
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Wed Dec 22, 2010 3:02 pm

it seems that my card is supported from kernel 2.6.33 on... how can i get a 2.6.33 or 2.6.35 kernel installed in lmde? is there a unofficial repo where i can get a newer kernel??
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby tdockery97 on Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:06 pm

You can install the Liquorix Kernel: http://liquorix.net/
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4893
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:23 am

i tried vaious solutions included the liquorix kernel. but I have the same result. I can only hear from headphones but nothing fron internal speakers of my laptop. any idea how to direc the output from the jack to the speakers?
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby giorsat on Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:57 am

SOLVED! I installed the kernel 2.6.37 in experimental. reboot. reconfigure pulseaudio as in you "how to solve audio issues" then choose the right output and added
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1
in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
giorsat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:14 pm

Re: no sound from lmde

Postby seeley on Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:39 am

Hi giorsat!
Even though I did not solve your problem, I'm asking you to add [solved] to the subject line, so that people who want to help others can do that as fast as can be.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1523
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest