Pulse audio (Solved)

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Pulse audio (Solved)

Postby georgeparker20 on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:20 pm

I have 2 AMD Athlon 64 x2 computers, not absolutely identical but close, both running Mint Debian (LMDE) 201012. One of them plays sound in all applications and the other only plays sound in Gnome Mplayer. Not in Rhythmbox, Movie Player, Mplayer, flash on Firefox etc. The "good" computer shows the sound card in Pulse Audio Manager Devices but the other only shows "Dummy Output". I assume that this is because it isn't detecting the sound card at boot.

I've Googled the problem and there seemed to be a similar problem in Ubuntu Hardy but it seems that later kernels should have solved this. But not for me. Any ideas anybody?

George
Last edited by georgeparker20 on Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
georgeparker20
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:03 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Pulse audio

Postby Kendall on Sat Feb 05, 2011 1:17 pm

I'll try to get a moderator to move this to the LMDE forum instead of the LXDE forum. You'll likely get a better response there. ;)
User avatar
Kendall
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1580
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Asheville, NC, USA

Re: Pulse audio

Postby Oscar799 on Sat Feb 05, 2011 1:20 pm

Moved here from LXDE
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Pulse audio

Postby seeley on Sat Feb 05, 2011 1:21 pm

Hi George!
To save time to help others I standardized this first reply.
Some forum members don't know they are supposed to inform themselves before posting.
Well, please try to follow this procedure: First read
Quickly get help
Chapters:
> Terminal > Opening a Thread > Problems (Hardware, Sound, Grub, Partitioning, Network) > Links [solved problems]
Search for a solution, both in the forum and on the internet.
Your cooperation would be appreciated. Thanks.
I'm sure after having posted relevant details you will get personal help.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Pulse audio

Postby georgeparker20 on Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:08 am

Problem resolved if not solved.

I think the problem was the original sound card which is an Intel HDA SBx00 Azalia. I've seen reference to these cards being a problem in Linux before. It was being detected by the boot process but not passed to Pulse Audio. When I installed other cards the same thing happened. Rather than try to hack the boot process (life's too short) I re-installed LMDE with a different sound card installed. Everything now works as it should with the sound card shown in Pulse Audio.
George
georgeparker20
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:03 pm

Re: Pulse audio

Postby seeley on Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:53 am

Hi George!
Glad for you.
If you don't have further questions concerning this thread please edit your first post and add [solved] to the subject line.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am


Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests