Rhythmbox and Exaile crashes, Banshee works? [Solved]

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Rhythmbox and Exaile crashes, Banshee works? [Solved]

Postby Troken on Fri Feb 11, 2011 7:53 pm

Hi,

just installed LMDE on an Asus EEE Pc. After adding my music library to Rhythmbox, I wanted to play a song. When clicking on play, Rhythmbox crashed. So I installed Banshee and all works great. But as Exaile has been a favorite, I installed it too. Just as with Rhythmbox, I added all music, but when trying to play one, Exaile crashes as well. Anyone has any ideas what might cause this? Thank you in advance for all suggestions.
Last edited by Troken on Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Troken
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:56 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Rhythmbox and Exaile crashes, Banshee works?

Postby Beardedragon on Sat Feb 12, 2011 7:52 am

Troken wrote:Hi,

just installed LMDE on an Asus EEE Pc. After adding my music library to Rhythmbox, I wanted to play a song. When clicking on play, Rhythmbox crashed. So I installed Banshee and all works great. But as Exaile has been a favorite, I installed it too. Just as with Rhythmbox, I added all music, but when trying to play one, Exaile crashes as well. Anyone has any ideas what might cause this? Thank you in advance for all suggestions.

It might depend upon the format of the music. Was it AIFF, WAV, MPEG-4, AAC (.m4a) or anything other than ogg or mp3? Some codecs are available as add-ons.
Robert Collard, Madison, WI
HP s5710f, 2x AMD Athlon II 260@3.2Ghz, 3GB RAM, 640GB HD
Debian 7.1 Wheezy 3,2,0-4 Xfce 4.10 AMD-64
LMDE 3.10.5-1 Xfce 4.10 AMD-64
SalineOS 2.0 3.2.0-4 Xfce 4.8 AMD64
User avatar
Beardedragon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:37 am

Re: Rhythmbox and Exaile crashes, Banshee works?

Postby ukbrian on Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:40 am

There is a tip to solve this problem with Rhythmbox somewhere here but forget about Exaile.
In Synaptic remove python-gi and Rhythmbox will play for you.
ukbrian
User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Rhythmbox and Exaile crashes, Banshee works?

Postby Troken on Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:13 pm

ukbrian wrote:There is a tip to solve this problem with Rhythmbox somewhere here but forget about Exaile.
In Synaptic remove python-gi and Rhythmbox will play for you.
ukbrian


Hurray! You solved it, Rhythmbox works now. Thank you ukbrian! Even Exaile works now. Is this something one should report to the LMDE team?
Last edited by Troken on Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Troken
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:56 am

Re: Rhythmbox and Exaile crashes, Banshee works?

Postby Troken on Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:17 pm

Beardedragon wrote:It might depend upon the format of the music. Was it AIFF, WAV, MPEG-4, AAC (.m4a) or anything other than ogg or mp3? Some codecs are available as add-ons.


Hi Beardedragon, no it is mostly ordinary MP3s.
User avatar
Troken
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:56 am

Re: Rhythmbox and Exaile crashes, Banshee works?

Postby Beardedragon on Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:38 pm

Troken wrote:
ukbrian wrote:
Hurray! You solved it, Rhythmbox works now. Thank you ukbrian! Even Exaile works now. Is this something one should report to the LMDE team?

Glad it got fixed. sorry I didn't help, but, Edit your first post in the Subject line add [Solved] and you will tell everyone who reads the forum about this.
Robert Collard, Madison, WI
HP s5710f, 2x AMD Athlon II 260@3.2Ghz, 3GB RAM, 640GB HD
Debian 7.1 Wheezy 3,2,0-4 Xfce 4.10 AMD-64
LMDE 3.10.5-1 Xfce 4.10 AMD-64
SalineOS 2.0 3.2.0-4 Xfce 4.8 AMD64
User avatar
Beardedragon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:37 am

Re: Rhythmbox and Exaile crashes, Banshee works?

Postby Troken on Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:55 pm

Beardedragon wrote:Glad it got fixed. sorry I didn't help, but, Edit your first post in the Subject line add [Solved] and you will tell everyone who reads the forum about this.


Thank you for the advice, I've done that now.
User avatar
Troken
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:56 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests