Microphone works but software does not capture sound...

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Microphone works but software does not capture sound...

Postby r2rX on Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:37 am

Hey guys,

There's a small issue which I am not quite sure how to troubleshoot/correct. I've installed TeamSpeak 3 Client to use at a LAN and it doesn't seem to register the microphone properly.

If I open Terminal and open 'alsamixer', I can enable the microphone (under 'Capture') and hear the sound captured via the mic on my headphones/speakers. However, when choosing an input device, in TeamSpeak, it won't pick anything up.

My machine has two audio devices : My GTX 480 HDMI audio and my on-board Realtek audio. On the taskbar, I right-click on the Volume icon and click 'Sound Properties'....under the input tab, it's blank.

TeamSpeak supports ALSA and PulseAudio....neither worked.

So, is there a way of enabling the microphone that software can capture the audio from the mic but not have it enabled that i'm hearing the sound through my headphones/speakers?

All the help is appreciated.

r2rX :D
r2rX
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Microphone works but software does not capture sound...

Postby ukbrian on Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:20 pm

Not a 2.6.39 pae kernel by any chance?
User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Microphone works but software does not capture sound...

Postby r2rX on Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:11 am

As a matter of fact, it is the 2.6.39 kernel...not sure about pae, though. Is this a symptom/bug that's present in this kernel?

r2rX :)
r2rX
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:36 pm

Re: Microphone works but software does not capture sound...

Postby CiaW on Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:15 pm

I had some issues when I installed sound recorder, figuring out what to enable etc. You could play with sound recorder to test things too, if you want. One thing I did figure out is that you have to check the settings under > system > preferences > sound, on the recording tab I have a 'capture' then a capture1 and a digital, all of them by default have an 'x' meaning disabled by the mic symbol. You have to click it to get rid of the x. That may be so the system isn't picking up and trying to record things when you keep a mic plugged in all the time.

And, you have to check it whenever you log back in to your desktop after a reboot or just logging out, when you want the mic to record or capture. I have notes I could look up, but for me I think that I have a mic and a front mic, and one of them worked with my headset mic, and possibly the other worked with the webcam mic. I don't use either of them frequently atm. Hope that helps!
CiaW
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:39 am
Location: Spokane Wash, USA

Re: Microphone works but software does not capture sound...

Postby ukbrian on Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:10 pm

Check that you have "gstreamer0.10-gconf" installed, every install i've made(lots) i have had to install that one, also boot into the earlier kernel 2.6.35 i think.

The last good solid kernel was 2.6.37 everything since has had problems, me I stick with the early kernel and everything just works :lol:
User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK


Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abcdef and 2 guests