Page 1 of 1

Volume increases by itself

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:00 pm
by gualter666
Hi, I'm having a problem with my sound device. The panel volume control doesn't change the volume. I've installed GNOME Alsa mixer, and I see that the volume control moves the front control, but in order to adjust the sound properly I have to move the PCM control. Every time an application starts, the PCM control goes to top, and volume increases, so I have to open the ALSA Mixer and manually adjust the PCM level. Is there any way to make that volume control moves the PCM level instead of front level? Thanks

Re: Volume increases by itself

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:49 pm
by Gerd50
Huh, strange. Which soundcard do you have?

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards 
At first you can try

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure alsa-base
if it doesn't help

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/alsa-utils reset
if that doesn't help uninstall the package pavucontrol and reinstall it. Or remove pulseaudio completely and check what alsa
does without pulse.

Re: Volume increases by itself

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:01 pm
by gualter666
Hi Gerd50, thanks for answerimg, I've tried what you told me, still the same. Here's my cat /proc/asound/cards:

walter@walter ~ $ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [SB ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
HDA ATI SB at 0xfe7f4000 irq 16
1 [Generic ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xfe8bc000 irq 45

I'm using the card 1 (HDA-Intel), it's the onboard sound. My motherboard is an ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO, With integrated ATI Radeon HD 4200 graphics

The other is an ATI Radeon HD5670.

Re: Volume increases by itself

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 6:54 am
by Gerd50
ATI Radeon HD5670 is a graphic card. You have HDA Intel with HDA ATI SB Soundchip and i think it has to be configured right.

What do you get with

Code: Select all

lspci | grep Audio
and

Code: Select all

head -n 1 /proc/asound/card0/codec*
?

Re: Volume increases by itself

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:02 am
by zhanshime
sudo apt-get remove earcandy may solve your problem

Re: Volume increases by itself

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:58 pm
by gualter666
Gerd50, here is the result

walter@walter ~ $ lspci | grep Audio
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
01:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5600 Series]

walter@walter ~ $ head -n 1 /proc/asound/card0/codec*
Codec: VIA VT1708S

Re: Volume increases by itself

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:59 pm
by gualter666
zhanshime wrote:sudo apt-get remove earcandy may solve your problem
zhanshime, Earcandy is not installed, so i can't remove it. Thanks anyway.

Re: Volume increases by itself

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:44 am
by Gerd50
Open the /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf with

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
at the end add the line

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=auto
hope for you it will work :)

Re: Volume increases by itself

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:27 pm
by gualter666
Gerd50 wrote:Open the /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf with

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
at the end add the line

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=auto
hope for you it will work :)
Still the same, here's my alsa-base.conf

# autoloader aliases
install sound-slot-0 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-0
install sound-slot-1 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-1
install sound-slot-2 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-2
install sound-slot-3 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-3
install sound-slot-4 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-4
install sound-slot-5 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-5
install sound-slot-6 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-6
install sound-slot-7 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-7
# Cause optional modules to be loaded above generic modules
install snd /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-ioctl32 ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-seq ; }
install snd-rawmidi /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-rawmidi && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-seq-midi ; : ; }
install snd-emu10k1 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-emu10k1 && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-emu10k1-synth ; : ; }

# Prevent abnormal drivers from grabbing index 0
options bt87x index=-2
options cx88_alsa index=-2
options snd-atiixp-modem index=-2
options snd-intel8x0m index=-2
options snd-via82xx-modem index=-2
# Keep snd-pcsp from beeing loaded as first soundcard
options snd-pcsp index=-2
# Keep snd-usb-audio from beeing loaded as first soundcard
options snd-usb-audio index=-2
options snd-hda-intel model=auto

Is that OK or should I modify something?

Re: Volume increases by itself

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:53 pm
by Gerd50
No, don't modify it and sorry i forgot to write to restart your pc after adding the options snd-hda-intel line. If a restart won't
help i don't know which options could be correct. kernel.org

http://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation ... Models.txt

says for VIA VT17xx/VT18xx/VT20xx codec 'auto' should work.