LMDE Kaffeine

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Important information

LMDE Kaffeine

Postby giorgoslouk on Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:26 am

Hello everybody!!!!!
I'm looking for a working guide to install Kaffeine on my laptop.
Can anybody help?
Regards.
User avatar
giorgoslouk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 6:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby craigevil on Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:24 am

apt-get install kaffeine ? Or use Synaptic. It installs like any other package.

On a side note haven't used Kaffeine since kde3.5, smplayer is nicer and it downloads subtitles.
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby gosa on Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:56 am

Or why not use Software manager, search for Kaffeine and hit "Install"?
- I did that myself a couple of days ago when I installed my dvb-t usb-stick.

Might be a bit "overkill" to install Kaffeine just to watch TV, but that's the best one I've found so far for managing TV.
gosa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Spain

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby GregE on Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:27 am

me-tv works fine for simple TV viewing and recording, and it is a GTK program so no extra lib dependencies.
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby gosa on Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:04 am

GregE wrote:me-tv works fine for simple TV viewing and recording, and it is a GTK program so no extra lib dependencies.


Yeah, I have me-tv as well, but I can't seem to get it to work without giving me problems with interlacing (at least that's what I think it might be) no matter how I change the settings in the preferences.
So - I'm running kaffeine in my LXDE install with all the extra stuf it needs... funny thing is that running LM12 LXDE I couldn't get kaffeine to work with tv until I also installed me-tv (gave me codec errors).
gosa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Spain

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby GregE on Tue Mar 27, 2012 5:50 pm

I switched me-tv to TV Time interlacing. Then restarted me-tv and it does the job well enough. Kaffeine has a lot more functionality if you have a lot of KDE installed anyway. I have both installed.
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests