HOW-TO Triple Boot Mountain Lion, Windows 7, LMDE

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
gustavoj

HOW-TO Triple Boot Mountain Lion, Windows 7, LMDE

Post by gustavoj »

[had accidentally posted this on the regular mint forums]

Hi all, this is my first post here. I figured I'd give a lending hand to others who may have come across the same issues I have.

I've done quite a bit of searching and haven't found a specific guide to get this done so after countless hours of googling for solutions, I finally was able to come up with a method that allowed a working triple-boot setup with the mentioned OSes. This is what worked for me - it might not necessarily work for you.

*** I am not responsible if you break your current setup so please proceed at your own risk! This is why I recommend you make BACK UPS! ***

*** Considering I am by no means a Linux expert, I am unsure if my installation procedure is void of any steps that could screw anything up on my/your machine. Again. PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK. ***

These instructions were pieced together from multiple guides until I found what worked for my particular situation. Please see at the end of the post for references and credit.

I am running a Macbook Pro (mid 2010) with OSX 10.8.3.

You will need:

1. GPT fdisk: http://sourceforge.net/projects/gptfdisk/

2. rEFInd: http://www.rodsbooks.com/refind/

3. Install CD for Windows 7

4. Live CD of LMDE (I used the 64-bit version)

5. PATIENCE. Figuring this out literally took me an entire day. I was up until 8am from the previous day, passed out, woke up and kept at it for another couple of hours till I got it to work.

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Download and install GPT fdisk.

2. Download rEFInd.

3. Make a backup of your mbr. Go to terminal and type "sudo disk /dev/disk0". Press and enter "b" and type the filename of your backup. (It saves in your home folder.) Finish by entering "q".

4. Install rEFInd MANUALLY. Refer to the documentation on the website.