LMDE Update issues, asking for advice

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
sprout know

problems after update

Post by sprout know »

hi folks.

new to the forum. although ive been dabbling in linux for about 2 years quite casually. im running mint debian xfce on an acer timeline laptop.

the othr day i noticed that my update icon hadnt peompted me for some time. i wss in a hurry and killing a couple minutes. i ran update, and the only thing it updated was the update package. it then showed, after being updated that there were nearly 2000 updates. in my haste i just told it to update, which i now realize was a bad idea.

so when i reboot i have no gui. no network. ive run xwindows and got into xfce but its stripped down, no sertings held, nothjng works. the big thing is network. the network applet in the systray is not there. running network tools returns nothing.

so my first question is....what in a very genral sjmple way, has happened?

and how do i add the startup sxript to run xwindows on boot?

and how do i get my network applet back?

apolohies for this post. im typing on my android phone, and im apparently having some keyboard issues on this contraption as well...
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: problems after update

Post by xenopeek »

Moved here by moderator

Hopefully the LMDE users here can help sort this out for you, it sounds like an update pack was installed and somehow there is now an issue with hardware or configuration.
sprout know

LMDE Update issues, asking for advice

Post by sprout know »

Hi all,

New to the forum, but I've been dabbling in linux for almost 3 years now, and have been running it as my only OS for most of that time.

I'm running LXDE 12, on an ACER Timeline laptop, 4810T. XFCE is my environment.