[UNRESOLVED]Login screen with no users after upgrade

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[UNRESOLVED]Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:32 pm

Used update manager, I think it freaked out, and now I'm left with this... http://oi48.tinypic.com/9pykbo.jpg
Sorry for the terrible quality, but I can't get a screenshot...

Also during boot I get this
Code: Select all
mounting local file system failed


What do? :/ should I cook up a liveusb?
Last edited by anewvision on Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby caf4926 on Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:54 pm

Try again and make sure you set a mount point for /home?
We can assume it's on a separate partition?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1778
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:28 am

caf4926 wrote:Try again and make sure you set a mount point for /home?
We can assume it's on a separate partition?

How do I set a mount point? And yes, it's on a separate partition.
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby caf4926 on Tue Sep 04, 2012 3:26 pm

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B3e0lL ... zVFNGpmd2s

You have to use the Something else option to get the advanced partitioner
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1778
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby zerozero on Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:29 pm

anewvision wrote:Used update manager, I think it freaked out,
i also think so :shock: this looks like an incomplete update. can you get to a tty? and do you have net there? if yes to both try
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:32 pm

caf4926 wrote:https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B3e0lLG3OdqEaWp6QzVFNGpmd2s

You have to use the Something else option to get the advanced partitioner


Now my install is hanging on
Code: Select all
copying usr/lib/vlc/plugins/demux/libsubtitle_plugin.so


md5 is fine, tried multiple times, been sitting for over an hour
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:40 pm

zerozero wrote:
anewvision wrote:Used update manager, I think it freaked out,
i also think so :shock: this looks like an incomplete update. can you get to a tty? and do you have net there? if yes to both try
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

Got tty, but I get this kick back
Code: Select all
sudo: unable to stat /etc/sudoers: No such file or directory
sudo: no valid sudoers sources found, quitting
sudo: unable to initialize policy plugin
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby zerozero on Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:37 pm

one question:
- did you start a new installation here >> viewtopic.php?f=198&t=111736#p625085 ? if "yes" this overwrote the existing system even if it failed.

one suggestion
- if you didn't start a new install above you can boot the live-usb and copy the /etc/sudoers from the live system to your damaged system (see the diff if there's one in the installed system :!: ) ad then try again to update in the tty.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:46 pm

zerozero wrote:one question:
- did you start a new installation here >> viewtopic.php?f=198&t=111736#p625085 ? if "yes" this overwrote the existing system even if it failed.

one suggestion
- if you didn't start a new install above you can boot the live-usb and copy the /etc/sudoers from the live system to your damaged system (see the diff if there's one in the installed system :!: ) ad then try again to update in the tty.

Unfortunately I did try to install... ugh... am I screwed?
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby zerozero on Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:53 pm

there's no option now but reinstall, you overwrote the filesystem, but having a separate home is going to help you: all your personal setting will be preserved;
it's time to follow the advise caf4926 gave you a few posts above.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Tue Sep 04, 2012 11:09 pm

zerozero wrote:there's no option now but reinstall, you overwrote the filesystem, but having a separate home is going to help you: all your personal setting will be preserved;
it's time to follow the advise caf4926 gave you a few posts above.

I am getting that hang up on that file in my previous post though
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby zerozero on Tue Sep 04, 2012 11:27 pm

my experience tells me that if you start an install over an existing system (to the point where you went: copying the files into the target) the latter is lost (sorry to say)
you still have HOME in a separate partition, so not all is lost here; reinstall and get back to the point where you were before the accident is a matter of a couple hours.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Tue Sep 04, 2012 11:34 pm

zerozero wrote:my experience tells me that if you start an install over an existing system (to the point where you went: copying the files into the target) the latter is lost (sorry to say)
you still have HOME in a separate partition, so not all is lost here; reinstall and get back to the point where you were before the accident is a matter of a couple hours.

Sooo... fresh install in a new partition?
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby zerozero on Tue Sep 04, 2012 11:51 pm

no, you should reuse the existing HOME (again see the slideshow caf4926 posted above, is exactly what you need)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:57 am

zerozero wrote:no, you should reuse the existing HOME (again see the slideshow caf4926 posted above, is exactly what you need)

I thought that's what I was doing, but I will try it again and report tomorrow. Thank you in advanced for helping me through this. It would seem I have a lot to learn...
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Wed Sep 05, 2012 12:49 pm

zerozero wrote:no, you should reuse the existing HOME (again see the slideshow caf4926 posted above, is exactly what you need)

This is the setup I've been using with the same hold up... am I missing something?
http://oi49.tinypic.com/4q23oh.jpg
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby caf4926 on Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:25 pm

anewvision wrote:
zerozero wrote:no, you should reuse the existing HOME (again see the slideshow caf4926 posted above, is exactly what you need)

This is the setup I've been using with the same hold up... am I missing something?
http://oi49.tinypic.com/4q23oh.jpg


I can't make out what the problem is from that image
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1778
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:27 pm

caf4926 wrote:
anewvision wrote:
zerozero wrote:no, you should reuse the existing HOME (again see the slideshow caf4926 posted above, is exactly what you need)

This is the setup I've been using with the same hold up... am I missing something?
http://oi49.tinypic.com/4q23oh.jpg


I can't make out what the problem is from that image

I just formatted... the IRC told me I was pretty far f'ed, so I they said it would be much easier to just do it that way...
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Re: [UNRESOLVED]Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby caf4926 on Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:59 pm

I just formatted... the IRC told me I was pretty far f'ed, so I they said it would be much easier to just do it that way...

Does that mean are OK now
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1778
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: [UNRESOLVED]Login screen with no users after upgrade

Postby anewvision on Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:52 pm

caf4926 wrote:
I just formatted... the IRC told me I was pretty far f'ed, so I they said it would be much easier to just do it that way...

Does that mean are OK now

Yeah, i guess. I am up and running. I still get the same error during boot, but I have no idea what it's talking about, because everything is working. It looks like it's attempting to mount sda4, but that is my swap. So basically, I quit haha
Now I have a headache...
User avatar
anewvision
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:06 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests