how do I make power button do shutdown

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

how do I make power button do shutdown

Postby ginjabunny on Tue Oct 09, 2012 6:19 pm

I was on LMDE UP4, but reinstalled LMDE from scratch with UP5, in UP4 when I hit the power button I got the "Shutdown this system now" option dialog (like I do in Mint13) but now with UP5 when I hit the power button it immediately seems to sleep or suspend or something and won't wake, how to I change the behaviour of the power button back to how it was, I can't see anything obvious.

Help

GB
User avatar
ginjabunny
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:04 pm
Location: West London, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: how do I make power button do shutdown

Postby xircon on Wed Oct 10, 2012 7:51 am

Code: Select all
`dbus-launch | sed "s/^/export /"`
GSETTINGS_BACKEND=dconf gsettings set org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.power button-power 'shutdown'
GSETTINGS_BACKEND=dconf gsettings set org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.power button-hibernate 'shutdown'
gsettings list-recursively org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.power


Worked for me. Brings up a dialog box, but shuts down after 60 seconds.

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: how do I make power button do shutdown

Postby ginjabunny on Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:19 pm

ah, thanks @xircon, hidden away in dconf, I vaguely remember doing something with it a year or so ago, will give it a go.
User avatar
ginjabunny
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:04 pm
Location: West London, UK


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests