Synaptic is not working

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Synaptic is not working

Postby declanmartin on Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:01 pm

After I had installed Linux Mint Debian, I updated for it.
I updated every thing but after that, I couldn't use Synaptic.
I opened but it's not working.
Why is that?
Anyone help me please
declanmartin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby willie42 on Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:56 am

Getting any error messages?

need details
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby declanmartin on Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:05 am

It didn't say anything. When I opened Synaptic, it required me to press my password there.
I did it exactly. but It's not working, it didn't show me the windows to work with
declanmartin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby willie42 on Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:11 am

Try this

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update


Code: Select all
sudo apt-get upgrade




see if that works


viewtopic.php?f=90&t=33142
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby declanmartin on Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:49 pm

Thank you but it's useless.
When I used sudo apt-get upgrade
It said cannot do it, must do sudo apt-get -f install to repair.
After that, it said 758KB will be used, Y/N? I chose yes but after that, error again that no such file or directory....
After all, Mint Debian is not really good
declanmartin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby willie42 on Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:14 am

lets try to fix broken packages


Code: Select all
apt install -f
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby declanmartin on Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:47 pm

I really cannot do it.

sudo apt install -f
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Correcting dependencies... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
apt
Suggested packages:
apt-doc
The following packages will be upgraded:
apt
1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 465 not upgraded.
7 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 0B/2,141kB of archives.
After this operation, 758kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
WARNING: The following packages cannot be authenticated!
apt
Authentication warning overridden.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/apt-listchanges", line 28, in <module>
import apt_pkg
ImportError: libapt-pkg.so.4.10: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
apt-extracttemplates: error while loading shared libraries: libapt-pkg.so.4.10: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
debconf: apt-extracttemplates failed: Bad file descriptor
Setting up debian-archive-keyring (2010.08.28) ...
gpg: key F42584E6: "Lenny Stable Release Key <debian-release@lists.debian.org>" not changed
gpg: key 55BE302B: "Debian Archive Automatic Signing Key (5.0/lenny) <ftpmaster@debian.org>" not changed
gpg: key 6D849617: "Debian-Volatile Archive Automatic Signing Key (5.0/lenny)" not changed
gpg: failed to create temporary file `/etc/apt/.#lk0x95c6870.x300/x340/x350/x400series-laptop.2163': No such file or directory
gpg: can't allocate lock for `/etc/apt/trusted.gpg'
gpg: failed to create temporary file `/etc/apt/.#lk0x95c6870.x300/x340/x350/x400series-laptop.2163': No such file or directory
gpg: can't allocate lock for `/etc/apt/secring.gpg'
gpg: error writing keyring `/etc/apt/trusted.gpg': general error
gpg: key B98321F9: public key "[User ID not found]" imported
gpg: error reading `[stdin]': general error
gpg: import from `[stdin]' failed: general error
gpg: Total number processed: 3
gpg: imported: 1 (RSA: 1)
gpg: unchanged: 3
dpkg: error processing debian-archive-keyring (--configure):
subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 2
Errors were encountered while processing:
debian-archive-keyring
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
declanmartin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby willie42 on Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:32 pm

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install -f --yes --force-yes  && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade --yes --force-yes


this might be some reading for you....

viewtopic.php?f=58&p=318155
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby declanmartin on Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:35 am

Oh really thank you.
Thanks for your help. I can use it correctly from now
declanmartin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby declanmartin on Wed Dec 22, 2010 5:22 am

But I still see one error. Do you know how to solve it
The following packages will be upgraded:
mintdesktop
1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
Need to get 0 B/12.1 kB of archives.
After this operation, 4,096 B disk space will be freed.
WARNING: The following packages cannot be authenticated!
mintdesktop
Authentication warning overridden.
Reading changelogs... Done
(Reading database ... 126496 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to replace mintdesktop 3.2.1 (using .../mintdesktop_3.2.2_all.deb) ...
/var/lib/dpkg/info/mintdesktop.prerm: 32: cannot create /etc/gdm/PostLogin/mintDesktop.tmp: Directory nonexistent
dpkg: warning: subprocess old pre-removal script returned error exit status 2
dpkg - trying script from the new package instead ...
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/mintdesktop_3.2.2_all.deb (--unpack):
there is no script in the new version of the package - giving up
configured to not write apport reports
Errors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/mintdesktop_3.2.2_all.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
declanmartin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby vincent on Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:40 am

The mintdesktop problem has already been mentionned in a previous Mint blog post; see here: http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1595

If you don't want to read all that, just open up a terminal and paste the following:
Code: Select all
apt update
sudo rm /var/lib/dpkg/info/mintdesktop.prerm
apt install mintdesktop
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby declanmartin on Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:45 pm

OK. And now,I have 2 more trouble.
I'm really sorry but I don't know how to fix.

1. After I can install and run Synaptic, I see that the Menu bar doesn't have icons anymore. Just have the name of program but it lost the icons.

2. In Synaptic, I cannot use quick search of it. Quick search was disabled some how.
And do you know how to upgrade Linux Kernel for it? Linux Kernel of Mint Deb is still 2.6.32 (old)
Thank you
declanmartin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby declanmartin on Fri Dec 24, 2010 2:59 pm

Is there anybody there? Anyone helps me please
declanmartin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby defcon on Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:03 pm

1) do a right-click on the menu-icon an go to the settings.
In the last 4 tabs you can choice the size of the icons. At the moment i think you size is set to "2". Change it to 22 or so.
User avatar
defcon
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:17 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Synaptic is not working

Postby declanmartin on Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:38 am

What about nnumber 2?
Please someone helps me
declanmartin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests