Fix Broken Packages (SOLVED)

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Fix Broken Packages (SOLVED)

Postby Fornhamfred on Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:18 am

My MInt update is showing 33 updates but when I try to install I am getting the message: Could not apply changes Fix broken packages first.

I have looked in synaptic and it is not showing any broken packages.

I am running LMDE 32 with the Mint update set at level three. I use this as my system is used for work and I need a stable distro, which to date has been very effective.

If I change the preferences there are 21 updates in 4 & 5 which I have not applied.

I can see in the forum that there have been problems with 10 but is this the same issue?
Last edited by Fornhamfred on Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Fix Broken Packages

Postby viking777 on Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:50 am

It is almost certainly the same problem. (the problems I am thinking about do relate to LMDE not to Mint 10)

If you need your system for work make sure that you have a Clonezilla disk image (or two) NOW.

Do this first (if you haven't already) then you can mess around with the updates.

Of course there are two main 'problem' threads with LMDE at the moment, one relates to freezing after the 'big update' and the other relates to a problem with vlc media player and libva1, I am assuming you are referring to the latter which is not quite as serious as the first. To fix the latter you just 'pin' libva1 in synaptic and wait for it to be fixed.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Fix Broken Packages

Postby anzan on Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:22 am

Just run

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

and that will clear it. There was something faerked up about some of the servers and the mint packages.
Thanks to all developers.
User avatar
anzan
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: Fix Broken Packages

Postby rivenathos on Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:37 am

There is one package that is gumming up the works. I went through the list, installed each package individually, and read the output of what was going to happen. The "libva1" package is what is in flux right now. If you force that package, it will remove VLC. Ignore that one package and update the others. Soon enough, that libva1 package will get "fixed" and then it will update properly. Things such as this happened with both Lenny and Squeeze during the testing period in which I participated. It comes as part of the deal. :wink:

Yes, you can downgrade to Stable or upgrade to Unstable for that package on a temporary basis, but if you wait a few days, this will get itself worked out. With Testing, these tiny glitches are going to pop up every so often. A good practice is to NOT upgrade everything without reading the output of what the result will be. Running Testing is easy, but it is not flying on autopilot.

Edited to correct a typo. Changed libav1 to libva1.
Last edited by rivenathos on Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Fix Broken Packages

Postby viking777 on Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:42 am

Running Testing is easy, but it is not flying on autopilot.


Well said.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Fix Broken Packages

Postby Fornhamfred on Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:22 am

Thanks

By reading the output I assume you mean the description.

I have ignored the package Libva1 and the rest of the packages installed OK.

I would like to do a disk image of my system but have not used Clonezilla before, are there any simple instructions for cloning?
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: Fix Broken Packages

Postby viking777 on Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:38 am

Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Fix Broken Packages

Postby Fornhamfred on Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:12 pm

Thanks for your help.

A very good tutorial.
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: Fix Broken Packages

Postby CiaW on Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:57 pm

anzan wrote:Just run

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

and that will clear it. There was something faerked up about some of the servers and the mint packages.

That will clear the error message about broken packages, but it will also remove VLC. For me, removing a perfectly good VLC which I use somewhat regularly isn't an option. I'd prefer to live with the error message and use upgrade (as opposed to dist-upgrade) in a terminal until the VLC issue gets sorted out. Mint update won't work in the meantime, but I can live with that...

Edit: I should have read the rest of the thread -- Rivenathos' reply clarified and gave good information about the issue.
CiaW
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:39 am
Location: Spokane Wash, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests