Fix Broken Packages???

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Fix Broken Packages???

Postby plowran on Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:58 am

Hi Everyone
I have been trying to update LMDE and it Keeps telling me ERROR Fix Broken Packages....
I first ran the Package Manager and told it to Fix Broken Packages, that did nothing...
I ran "apt update" and that didnt do anything, I then found this on line "sudo apt-get upgrade" and it ran for about 30 min and then I restarted the Laptop.
But still I am getting this Error....
What am I not doing correctly?
plowran
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:37 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Fix Broken Packages???

Postby JasonLG on Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:18 pm

plowran wrote:Hi Everyone
I have been trying to update LMDE and it Keeps telling me ERROR Fix Broken Packages....
I first ran the Package Manager and told it to Fix Broken Packages, that did nothing...
I ran "apt update" and that didnt do anything, I then found this on line "sudo apt-get upgrade" and it ran for about 30 min and then I restarted the Laptop.
But still I am getting this Error....
What am I not doing correctly?


Give this a shot.
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install -f && sudo apt-get clean && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
"I see" said the blind man to the deaf man who stuck his wooden leg out the window to check the weather.
JasonLG
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Polk City, Iowa USA

Re: Fix Broken Packages???

Postby Ralf1e on Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:09 pm

Thank you JasonLG
I have done your solution on two desktops today and it is long winded and not a quick fix but both are now up to date with packages lets hope they stay that way :-)
Ralf1e
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 2:58 am

Re: Fix Broken Packages???

Postby JasonLG on Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:31 pm

Ralf1e wrote:Thank you JasonLG
I have done your solution on two desktops today and it is long winded and not a quick fix but both are now up to date with packages lets hope they stay that way :-)


Right on, your welcome.

Not a quick fix? Copy from the code box then paste into a terminal, I'm not sure how much quicker you want. The time it takes to upgrade the packages on your system depends on the speed of your system and the speed of your connection. The upgrade command is no slower then if you upgraded in Synaptic.
"I see" said the blind man to the deaf man who stuck his wooden leg out the window to check the weather.
JasonLG
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Polk City, Iowa USA

Re: Fix Broken Packages???

Postby Ralf1e on Fri Apr 08, 2011 1:25 am

Hello JasonLG, When I mean not a quick fix I mean the time the computer takes to carry out your instruction.
I didn't realize it was going to clean out and upgrade every package in the system and with the problem as it was it would not upgrade through synaptic, it gave error messages. So it would seem your solution is spot on :D
Thank you very much.
Maybe this should get marked up as Solved now.
I am amazed there are not more posts about this subject, unless it doesn't do it to all computers after install.
Ralf1e
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 2:58 am

Re: Fix Broken Packages???

Postby JasonLG on Fri Apr 08, 2011 3:29 pm

Ralf1e wrote:Hello JasonLG, When I mean not a quick fix I mean the time the computer takes to carry out your instruction.
I didn't realize it was going to clean out and upgrade every package in the system and with the problem as it was it would not upgrade through synaptic, it gave error messages. So it would seem your solution is spot on :D
Thank you very much.
Maybe this should get marked up as Solved now.
I am amazed there are not more posts about this subject, unless it doesn't do it to all computers after install.


Yep, i figured you wanted the error fixed and a full update and upgrade so I strung together the appropriate commands. I used dist-upgrade instead of just upgrade since you're using LMDE which is based on Debian testing and it may introduce additional dependencies over time and dist-upgrade handles dependencies better then just upgrade.

Here is a page that tells you what they do.
http://linux.die.net/man/8/apt-get

The && in between the commands just tells it to run one after the other.
"I see" said the blind man to the deaf man who stuck his wooden leg out the window to check the weather.
JasonLG
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Polk City, Iowa USA


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests