LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) -{CLOSED}

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby squeezy on Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:39 am

Me too, me too! I took the install I set up to test UP5 and upped it to Sid yesterday. Still working great even with the Mint preferences file in place. It's like a real LMDE Sid machine :D

Wonder how long that will last? :lol: Probably longer than me. I know I'll rebuild it some other way within a week. I'm a Linux junkie I tell ya!
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:43 am

squeezy wrote:...............Still working great even with the Mint preferences file in place............. :D

Keep an eye on that squeezy. I think it may cause some upgrade problems in the future. :?:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby squeezy on Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:59 am

Yeah, no doubt about that...if I can keep from installing something else within a few days :lol:

I really should partition this drive to accommodate multiple installations. There's definitely stuff I keep coming back to that I could leave in place.

GeneC, you run multiple setups on your machine I see. What's your partitioning scheme? I've got an 80 GB drive I dedicate to playing with Linux. I ought to be able to hold 2-3 installations. I'm pretty much a hobbyist user so don't need a ton of space.
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:44 am

This setup works nicely for (4) installations, plus a large 'STORAGE = (now for clones).

Image
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby squeezy on Fri Aug 03, 2012 11:23 am

Interesting. I see only one partition is marked bootable. I would have thought all the partitions holding an OS would be bootable, or can you only have one bootable partition?

I'm going to try this. How do you handle grub installs? Do you bypass it on all but one install?
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Fri Aug 03, 2012 11:30 am

SDA1 is where grub is installed.

When I install a new or re-install a clone to another partition,
EDIT: (Orig info was incorrect).
I will go into SDA6 and run
Code: Select all
sudo grub-install /dev/sda

This puts the grub config from sda6 back to sda1(where the mbr is).
(I customize with grub customizer).
Image

Not unnecessary, but I like to keep things 'neat' :P
Last edited by GeneC on Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:59 pm, edited 3 times in total.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby squeezy on Fri Aug 03, 2012 11:38 am

Yeah, I like things neat, too :D

OK, I'm off to repartition my drive!
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Fri Aug 03, 2012 11:57 am

Hmm.
After thinking about it. The info about MOVING grub was incorrect.
I edited the post above to clarify.
I believe grub is always on SDA1 , no matter what partition it was last installed from (as long as you choose that option when grub is installed), as I believe that is where the MBR is located.
Now I have totally confused both of us..... :lol:

Using the command I gave just changes the grub config to whatever the setup is on the partition (sda1, 2, 3... et) you choose.

In any event its not an issue. It does work... 8)
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby squeezy on Fri Aug 03, 2012 3:29 pm

Well, I'm back with my new multi-partitioned disk 8) I chose LMDE as the main distro that I'll not remove. I put a UP4 install on right now, thinking I'll always use the current stable LMDE offering here. Now, what else can I tinker with. A SID MATE install looks tempting right now :twisted:
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby zerozero on Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:39 pm

:D tks Gene, things in testing aren't exactly moving fast as you know :lol:

and tbh this should be a relatively safe install:
- no gnome-stuff whatsoever; it was a debian squeeze lxde install where i configured xfce and in this couple months has been updated first to testing and yesterday to sid;
- no networkmanager; wicd works here very well;
- no proprietary graphics drivers; just a good old intel GM45;

with this said, i know that sid is sid and one day KABOOM :lol: something will break and badly;
what i'm particularly watching here:
- as always xorg/mesa/kernel (we never know when/if the next one is gonna be a good one) and the issues with 3.5 kernel tho apparently already spotted are not very reassuring;
- the upcoming xfce 4.10 (it's still broken in experimental), so let's see how debian handles this transition;
- in a more trivial note: i still use Marillat repo (deb-multimedia) and also is a factor to watch, specially now that he was forced to drop the use of the name debian in his site;

and now the mandatory screenie :lol:
bare in mind 2 things:
-this was supposed to be a dual-boot setup (last year when i got this box) yeahh right :lol:
- this xfce is not here (is in the laptop)
Image
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GeneC on Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:34 pm

zerozero wrote:....with this said, i know that sid is sid and one day KABOOM :lol: something will break and badly;
what i'm particularly watching here:
- as always xorg/mesa/kernel (we never know when/if the next one is gonna be a good one) and the issues with 3.5 kernel tho apparently already spotted are not very reassuring;...


Keep an eye on the Aptosid forum. They are on top of breakages in SID. :wink:
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... c27c096455

...- the upcoming xfce 4.10 (it's still broken in experimental), so let's see how debian handles this transition;...


I've upgraded to 4.10 from experimental twice and was disappointed, as it doesn't seem to be all there yet. :?: Debian is slow on this one.
Well... something to look forward too, I guess.... :lol:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby zerozero on Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:48 pm

heh Aptosid and this topic here :wink:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby Brian49 on Sat Aug 04, 2012 5:40 am

zerozero wrote:the upcoming xfce 4.10 (it's still broken in experimental)

No breakages here with the main Xfce 4.10 packages. The only issue I've noticed is with auxiliary packages not being upgraded, such as xfce4-mixer.
Brian49
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby nextdistroplease on Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:29 pm

I have OpenArena and updating my system (while pointing to sid correctly) caused the skybox to turn black - it rendered incorrectly although the game was still playable.

This is the solution that I found that worked:

1. Use any editor to open ~/.openarena/baseoa/q3config.cfg

2. Look for seta r_fastsky

3. If it has a setting of "1", change it to "0". It should look like this:

seta r_fastsky "0"

The skybox should then render correctly (i.e. not black).
User avatar
nextdistroplease
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 11:18 pm
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby ammon on Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:37 am

Nodejs and Npm are broken today, can anyone confirm?
User avatar
ammon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:12 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GregE on Sat Aug 11, 2012 3:59 am

QT4 updates coming through that have caused havoc on my multi-arch system. Might be worth sitting for a few days.
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby xircon on Sat Aug 11, 2012 4:36 am

GregE wrote:QT4 updates coming through that have caused havoc on my multi-arch system. Might be worth sitting for a few days.


No problems here, but my machine arch is x64. Will log into KDE, but all qt programs that I use in Cinnamon are OK (qBittorent, smplayer etc).

Steve

:Edit: Sorry for the delay! Been playing with KDE and lost track of time, all working, no problems to report.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GregE on Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:32 pm

The qt problem is with one lib (libqt4-network:i386) and Skype:386 on a multi-arch system. I would think it will clear when the updates are all through both archs.

Only going to affect two of us here

:)
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby Regulus74 on Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:14 pm

Here everything seems ok with multi-arch system.
Arch Linux user
User avatar
Regulus74
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:07 pm
Location: Mantova - Italy

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) - Jul 19th

Postby GregE on Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:58 pm

Regulus74 wrote:Here everything seems ok with multi-arch system.


It is only some programs that have issues. For me I have lost Skype. Wine and Picasa are working fine. It is a conflict between bits of QT in the multi-arch system. There has been a bug filed, so if you are affected it is a "wait and see:" issue.

https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr ... %5B1-25%5D

Luckily I hardly use Skype so I do not care that much.

I will keep checking and report back when it is fixed.
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: killer de bug and 5 guests