LMDE BREAKAGES - (Tracking SID!) -{CLOSED}

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby wayne128 on Thu May 12, 2011 1:28 am

autocrosser wrote:WARNING!!!!! I just upgraded my Sid & lost it all......libc6 & depends looks like it blew up my Sid, version is - 2.13-3--I rebooted into my Experimental & updated everything but libc6 in my available updates without problems. Chroot is not available for my Sid either....Sid was a bad, bad boy this evening........



thanks autocrosser for the warning,
check mine and see a list of libc6. so better stay away till the naughty boy settle down.

Ign http://ftp.us.debian.org unstable/non-free Translation-en
Fetched 180 kB in 6s (26.0 kB/s)
Reading package lists... Done
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
The following packages will be upgraded:
libc-bin libc-dev-bin libc6 libc6-dev libc6-i386 locales locales-all
7 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 20.6 MB of archives.
After this operation, 36.9 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? n
Abort.


Read also another person having the issue
system totally fubared after updating libc6 2.13-3
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=64026
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby autocrosser on Thu May 12, 2011 3:39 am

Yes--libc-bin & libc6 totally b0rked my Sid :( O-Well--a reinstall looks like it's in order
Code: Select all
dean@linux:~/Desktop$ '/home/dean/Chroot-MintS'
[sudo] password for dean:
chroot: failed to run command `su': No such file or directory

sudo chroot /mnt/MintS
[sudo] password for dean:
chroot: failed to run command `/bin/bash': No such file or directory

Can't even chroot in to fix the naughty boy..... I only have 3 other Mint installs to work with.......And my Gnome-Shell install is just humming along :) I update Sid before Experimental (lucky me!!!)
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby wayne128 on Thu May 12, 2011 5:10 am

bug report, to be fixed with version 2.13-4
http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor ... =%23626457

Date: Thu, 12 May 2011 06:33:01 UTC

Severity: critical

Tags: sid

Merged with 626450, 626467

Found in version eglibc/2.13-3

Fixed in versions 2.13-4, eglibc/2.13-4
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby wayne128 on Thu May 12, 2011 7:53 am

read from Debian forum, the version 2.13-4 was pushed into repos

I confirm it from synaptic

so I du and all is well, issue resolved.
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby zerozero on Thu May 12, 2011 9:12 am

well, i just checked and i still have 2.13.3 to upgrade, so it's a no-go
waiting for the mirror to sync 8)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby autocrosser on Thu May 12, 2011 9:49 am

Confirm that 2.13-4 is available now--upgraded my Gnome-Shell install without problems---Guess that I'll clone my Testing install & "sidify" it this weekend---This is still not as bad as Ubuntu-Testing was, I would have to rebuild a couple of times during a cycle :)
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby TheGreatSudoku on Thu May 12, 2011 11:57 am

libc6

I got borked too. Upgraded through Synaptic, install failed halfway through, though it gave the appearance nothing was installed.

Ok I thought I can just boot from a live-cd and chroot. This proved difficult as I kept getting:
Code: Select all
chroot: cannot run command `/bin/bash': no such file or directory


it took adding a simlinked directory, lib64 pointing to lib on the chroot in order to get it to work:
Code: Select all
cd /media/chrootdrivename/
ln -s lib lib64


that allowed me to chroot, whereupon I immediately ran:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get -f install


apt seemed to sort things out, and after a reboot I'm working again. Sid sure has been volatile lately
↯Acer Aspire 7730 17" laptop ↝ Intel Core Duo 2.00Ghz x2  4gig DDR2 RAM ⤗ Intel Mobile 4 Graphics ➫ Kernel: 3.2.0-14-liquorix ZEN SMP PREEMPT x86_64  Linux Mint Debian Edition using Sid Repositories ⇨ KDE 4.7.4 ⟿ Installed: 11/23/2010↯
User avatar
TheGreatSudoku
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:05 am

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby autocrosser on Thu May 12, 2011 3:38 pm

Yes--I'll try the simlink path first--I'm also having problems with either just chrooting in or with my chroot scripts--but if its too much trouble just cloning my Testing install will allow me to redo my partitioning---/ was a bit too small anyway........
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby craigevil on Thu May 12, 2011 8:51 pm

Warnings: Warning: Libc6 64-bit Contributed by etorix on 2011-05-12 08:01 AM see http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor ... =%23626457 AND http://lists.debian.org/debian-devel/20 ... 00558.html
[working commands] libc6 2.13-3 may make your system UNBOOTABLE [only on 64-bit] sposedly fixed in 2.13-4 UPDATE: the 'fixed' libc6 2.13-4 is now hitting the mirrors : Warning: Libc6 64-bit :: aptosid.com :: aptosid - Debian hot and spicy! : http://goo.gl/O5G6i

Also see View topic - Unbootable system (probably libc6) [amd64] :: aptosid.com :: aptosid - Debian hot and spicy! : http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... pic&t=1250

Just wait until 2.13-4 is on the mirror you use. It should already be on all the mirrors.
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby autocrosser on Fri May 13, 2011 1:04 am

Two very good things this evening---The new xorg was finally released--all bugs pulled & the updates went thru---Mileage may vary--My results are looking good.
I got my sick Sid "back to health"--took a bit of major work (cloned my Testing Install & "Sidifyed" it after introducing the clone to its new home)..then was "rewarded" with the shiny xorg update...bonus :D

All is again good in "on the edge" land :lol: :lol:
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby TheGreatSudoku on Fri May 13, 2011 11:17 am

confirm xserver-xorg-core is now off the apt-list bugs list and installs fine.

And autocrosser, things could be worse. Imagine the pain in the butt if you were bleeding edge on a SOURCE distro like slackware or *BSD and had to COMPILE xorg in order to update it :shock:
↯Acer Aspire 7730 17" laptop ↝ Intel Core Duo 2.00Ghz x2  4gig DDR2 RAM ⤗ Intel Mobile 4 Graphics ➫ Kernel: 3.2.0-14-liquorix ZEN SMP PREEMPT x86_64  Linux Mint Debian Edition using Sid Repositories ⇨ KDE 4.7.4 ⟿ Installed: 11/23/2010↯
User avatar
TheGreatSudoku
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:05 am

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby autocrosser on Fri May 13, 2011 3:45 pm

TheGreatSudoku wrote:confirm xserver-xorg-core is now off the apt-list bugs list and installs fine.

And autocrosser, things could be worse. Imagine the pain in the butt if you were bleeding edge on a SOURCE distro like slackware or *BSD and had to COMPILE xorg in order to update it :shock:


LOL!!!! I do remember a time when I compiled almost everything...I've gotten very use to .debs ( and deltadebs would be MUCH nicer!!!)...I spent the last 5 years as a 'buntu alpha-tester with a very high percentage of major b0rks...I sometimes feel like I'm slacking :D :shock: Debian experimental "seems" more stable............
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby TheGreatSudoku on Fri May 13, 2011 6:49 pm

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install debdelta


never used it myself as I have heard the trade off in computing time offsets the time (on broadband connections) to just download the deb proper and install it.

I remember my old PPC Mac runnining Tiger, compiling programs via Fink, compiling the rootless xserver itself before Apple officially offered one. I eventually installed Sid on that PPC which it ran until the hardware died.
↯Acer Aspire 7730 17" laptop ↝ Intel Core Duo 2.00Ghz x2  4gig DDR2 RAM ⤗ Intel Mobile 4 Graphics ➫ Kernel: 3.2.0-14-liquorix ZEN SMP PREEMPT x86_64  Linux Mint Debian Edition using Sid Repositories ⇨ KDE 4.7.4 ⟿ Installed: 11/23/2010↯
User avatar
TheGreatSudoku
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:05 am

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby TheGreatSudoku on Sun May 15, 2011 10:30 am

↯Acer Aspire 7730 17" laptop ↝ Intel Core Duo 2.00Ghz x2  4gig DDR2 RAM ⤗ Intel Mobile 4 Graphics ➫ Kernel: 3.2.0-14-liquorix ZEN SMP PREEMPT x86_64  Linux Mint Debian Edition using Sid Repositories ⇨ KDE 4.7.4 ⟿ Installed: 11/23/2010↯
User avatar
TheGreatSudoku
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:05 am

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby wayne128 on Sun May 15, 2011 10:54 am

I saw the bug report from apt-listbugs
thus HOLD onto du

Retrieving bug reports... Done
Parsing Found/Fixed information... Done
critical bugs of initscripts (2.88dsf-13.2 -> 2.88dsf-13.6) <unfixed>
#623076 - initscripts: /etc/network/run is not a directory
grave bugs of libstartup-notification0 (0.10-1 -> 0.11-2) <unfixed>
#626717 - libstartup-notification0: 0.11 breaks ABI for sn_launchee_context_setup_window
Summary:
initscripts(1 bug), libstartup-notification0(1 bug)

Are you sure you want to install/upgrade the above packages? [Y/n/?/...] n
****************************************************************************
****** Exit with an error by force in order to stop the installation. ******
****************************************************************************
E: Sub-process /usr/sbin/apt-listbugs apt || exit 10 returned an error code (10)
E: Failure running script /usr/sbin/apt-listbugs apt || exit 10
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby autocrosser on Sun May 15, 2011 2:19 pm

libstartup is a <hold> in experimental-- initscripts is fixed with the addition of a /etc/network/run folder---that "should" filter down within the next week or so.....both are <hold> in my Sid install.

And a note about deltadebs....I don't see any real differences with or without them....was hoping that they would be faster....pity.
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby autocrosser on Mon May 16, 2011 9:53 am

I think that this thread "should" be a sticky......Agreed???
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby wayne128 on Mon May 16, 2011 8:41 pm

autocrosser wrote:I think that this thread "should" be a sticky......Agreed???



Agree, because I have several partitions tracking Sid :mrgreen:
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3325
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby autocrosser on Mon May 16, 2011 9:31 pm

wayne128 wrote:
autocrosser wrote:I think that this thread "should" be a sticky......Agreed???



Agree, because I have several partitions tracking Sid :mrgreen:



Waves both arms in air yelling "Mods--look here!!!" :lol: :lol:
"Let's nobody be dead today----Looks very bad on my report" One of my favorite lines from AVATAR :)
Linux User# 395230
User avatar
autocrosser
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Eagle Point, Oregon

Re: LMDE (Tracking SID, or other non-standard) BREAKAGES!

Postby TheGreatSudoku on Tue May 17, 2011 9:22 am

I agree it should be sticky as well. There seems to be a small group of us folks who like to tinker and alter LMDE to our own liking.

I have a question as well. Has anyone using the liquorix kernel ever gone into /usr/src/ and recompiled the liquorix kernel to fit their system? I've been kinda half-heartedly been going through menuconfig removing devices I know I don't have. Trying to streamline and minimize the kernel size, and set the default generic CPU setting to the one in my machine. I know it CAN be done, just curious if anyone else has done it, and if so what should I be sure NOT to remove support for in menuconfig?
↯Acer Aspire 7730 17" laptop ↝ Intel Core Duo 2.00Ghz x2  4gig DDR2 RAM ⤗ Intel Mobile 4 Graphics ➫ Kernel: 3.2.0-14-liquorix ZEN SMP PREEMPT x86_64  Linux Mint Debian Edition using Sid Repositories ⇨ KDE 4.7.4 ⟿ Installed: 11/23/2010↯
User avatar
TheGreatSudoku
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:05 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests