[Solved} I think the update manager is broken

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[Solved} I think the update manager is broken

Postby willie42 on Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:05 pm

I can run

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade


and it will apply all the patches. I click on the shield and it doesn't install the updates. By chance can anyone else confirm this or is it only happening to me?

:D
Last edited by willie42 on Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby amina on Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:45 pm

Maybe you mean this? viewtopic.php?f=141&t=67502&start=240#p407555

I quitted and launched again and it works for me, just installed 2 updates with MU.
amina
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:45 am

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby richyrich on Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:52 pm

@ willie42 - Feel like troubleshooting ?

Right-click > Quit the Update Manager panel icon.
Control Center > Startup Applications - Un-check mintUpdate / Update Manager to disable it from autostart.

For the next few days, run Mint's Update Manager only from the menu; First, take note the number of updates listed, but don't update yet. Close it and quit the icon. Now check Synaptic or if your prefer, check from the terminal . . . How is mintUpdate's accuracy this time ? . . . please keep note, or report it back here, . . you can then update via whatever method you choose.

How is the accuracy after a few days using this method ? , and after a few updates have been issued ?

richy
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby willie42 on Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:53 pm

I will do the trouble shooting and hopefully figure out what is going on. After some time of looking around I noticed this in the information section in the update manager. This might be a clue.

Code: Select all
(synaptic:14011): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :0
++ Return code:1
++ Install finished
++ Starting refresh
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Starting refresh
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Starting refresh
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Starting refresh
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Starting refresh
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Starting refresh
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Starting refresh
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ MintUpdate is in tray mode, performing auto-refresh
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished
++ Install requested by user
++ Will install virtualbox-ose-qt
++ Will install w3m
++ Will install virtualbox-ose
++ Will install ntp
++ Will install isc-dhcp-client
++ Will install dhcp3-client
++ Will install ntpdate
++ Will install iputils-ping
++ Will install isc-dhcp-common
++ Will install dhcp3-common
++ Ready to launch synaptic
No protocol specified

(synaptic:14704): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :0
++ Return code:1
++ Install finished
++ Starting refresh
++ Found 10 recommended software updates
++ Refresh finished


it opens with the updates but when I click the green check then after about 10 seconds it shows I have updates and nothing happens. hope this helps a little. I am a little confused on this one

thanks for your help Richie :D
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby Darrel on Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:16 am

i have the same problem, Update Manager, failing in both my 32bit and 64bit versions, I had it set to levels 1,2,3, but when it failed I used
"sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade" so I have the new kernel, and have set Update Manager to levels 1-5, so will need to wait for next updates to see if it will work again?
Darrel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:50 am

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby willie42 on Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:39 am

I am thinking its the Mint Update manager. The updates are coming in just can not install them. Richie is going to help us trouble shoot and hopefully will have an answer soon


:D :wink: :mrgreen:
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby TBABill on Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:57 am

Willie, just curious if you only have levels 1-3 checked for Mint Update? If so, could update be looking out at all updates, then assigning some of them to level 4 and/or 5 so when you update they aren't included in those updates? If so, would checking 4 and 5 allow more or all updates to be applied?

I really dislike Mint Update for LMDE and prefer to use the command line till the tool is tweaked for LMDE. I would imagine it's no different than just setting Update to take all available updates, but if there is a hiccup in update could it lead to issues like you are having? I much prefer the all or none approach for a rolling distro.
TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1368
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby willie42 on Thu Apr 14, 2011 12:01 pm

I am only doing updates 1-3. I have not done any 4 and 5's. I am wondering what version of Mint Update everyone else has. That might narrow it down to tell me if it is a willie issue and not wide spread.
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby richyrich on Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:15 pm

Actually, I don't think it's a problem with mintUpdate at all. I think everything works perfectly when mintUpdate is run from the Menu.

My theory : Missed updates occur ONLY when mintUpdate is auto-started, and is running/sitting/checking from the panel.

@ willie42 , you can set Mint Update Manager preferences to show levels 4 and 5 (Visible checked), just leave the Safe boxes un-checked.
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby jeffreyC on Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:19 pm

Mint update is built for Ubuntu based Mint and has not been modified for Debian base.

With Debian based you should do all update levels 1-5

If you do your updates in Synaptic or the command line there are no levels.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0
jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby willie42 on Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:49 pm

This is very interesting. Today I tried to update it earlier and it would not update. Like Richie suggested I unchecked it to start at start up. Earlier today I had to reboot. Well i just tried to update it again and it worked. It was my system. thanks everyone for a hand in trying to figure out this mystery. I will mark it solved. :D :mrgreen:
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: I think the update manager is broken

Postby Darrel on Fri Apr 15, 2011 12:29 am

Darrel wrote:i have the same problem, Update Manager, failing in both my 32bit and 64bit versions, I had it set to levels 1,2,3, but when it failed I used
"sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade" so I have the new kernel, and have set Update Manager to levels 1-5, so will need to wait for next updates to see if it will work again?



Solved !
Both versions now working after removing Update Manager, from Start menu, rebooting and launching from main menu.
Thanks All
Darrel
Darrel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:50 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests