Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby patriot2135 on Mon May 16, 2011 12:09 pm

Hello Forum.
Thank you for taking the time to review my issue.
This is the problem that I am experiencing:
After installing Linux Mint Debian Edition 64bit (fresh install) I click on the Update Icon in the panel to install the current updates. The Update Manager opens and I see the available updates, I accept the recommended updates and select "Install Updates" and it appears to start but after just a few seconds I am presented with the following error: "Could not apply changes! Fix broken packages first."
As you can see from the image, I have resorted to logging in as Superuser to address this problem as Regular user was ineffective. However, being Superuser didn't solve anything either. (Not that I really expected it to, but I'll try just about anything at this point.)

I am really at a loss here. :?
I have the log file of the failed attempt to update and if necessary I can add it however, it amounts to a gazillion lines of text so, I will wait until it is requested before I provide (copy/paste) it. :D

This is a summary of my computer:

Processor - AMD Athlon 64 3500+
Memory - 2061 megs
Kernel - Linux 2.6.32-5 amd64 (x86_64)
HDD's - /dev/sda/ WD 40gig. with M$ Windows XP installed
/dev/sdb/ IBM 41gig. with Linux Mint 10 32bit ver.
/dev/sdc/ WD 160gig. SATA on 2nd. RAID port (this is the drive that I am currently on.)

Thank you in advance for your help with this issue.

Cheers
Attachments
Screenshot.png
Screen shot of the error.
Screenshot.png (216.01 KiB) Viewed 2477 times
Erin Go Bragh
Each body is created for a life peculiar to its purpose. Therefore, when compelled to tasks beyond its wont, it may labor awkwardly.
patriot2135
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby proxima_centauri on Mon May 16, 2011 12:18 pm

* Moved to LMDE (Linux Mint Debian) subforum

Can you update through terminal?

Try
Code: Select all
apt update && apt dist-upgrade

If that doesn't work try this in terminal first
Code: Select all
apt update && apt install -f


It's also a good idea to keep up-to-date with the following thread -> viewtopic.php?f=141&t=67502
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby zerozero on Mon May 16, 2011 12:23 pm

start here :)

viewtopic.php?f=141&t=67502

edit :oops: proxima was faster 8)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby patriot2135 on Mon May 16, 2011 3:49 pm

@zerozero
@proxima_centauri

Thank you both for your help. It appears that your instructions were "bang on" and I am in the process of updating/upgrading now through the Terminal.
I executed the command,
Code: Select all
apt update && apt dist-upgrade
. So far this is taking a significant amount of time (which is reasonable considering that it is updating and upgrading the entire system, from the Kernel, out, or so it appears) and I expect that this is a good thing. No errors yet, and at this point, I don't expect to, but, you never know. :wink:

I'll post when the process is complete. So far do good.

Cheers
Erin Go Bragh
Each body is created for a life peculiar to its purpose. Therefore, when compelled to tasks beyond its wont, it may labor awkwardly.
patriot2135
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby patriot2135 on Mon May 16, 2011 4:27 pm

I've reached a crossroads here.
The process has arrived at a point that is causing a bit of confusion for this noob.
The Terminal has opened a "Configuring grub-pc" menu and is asking for the device(s) to install GRUB to. I know how hopeless this sounds but, I am not sure which device GRUB is currently installed on. Is there a way to check this?
Can anyone advise me as to which device(s) I should select in this menu?

Thanks in advance.
Erin Go Bragh
Each body is created for a life peculiar to its purpose. Therefore, when compelled to tasks beyond its wont, it may labor awkwardly.
patriot2135
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby proxima_centauri on Mon May 16, 2011 4:43 pm

The default placement of grub2 in the installation is '/dev/sda'.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby patriot2135 on Mon May 16, 2011 5:02 pm

Thank you proxima_centauri.
I thought I had read that somewhere but I wasn't sure enough to attempt it without confirmation.
I will select that option.
Thank you again. I will post the results when the process is complete.

Cheers
Erin Go Bragh
Each body is created for a life peculiar to its purpose. Therefore, when compelled to tasks beyond its wont, it may labor awkwardly.
patriot2135
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby patriot2135 on Mon May 16, 2011 5:51 pm

@proxima_centauri
@zerozero
Once again, thanks for your help. You guys rock!! :D
I ran the apt update && apt dist-upgrade command and it has just finished. It appears that it completed without a hitch but when I open the Update Manager, it shows that there is another application using APT. I assume that, that is because I haven't closed the Terminal yet?

In your instructions, you gave two commands; apt update && apt dist-upgrade and apt update && apt install -f.
I ran the first one, apt update && apt dist-upgrade and per your instructions, I didn't run the second command because the first appears to have worked. Is there a way to confirm that the process completed successfully?

Also, is, it necessary to run the apt update && apt install -f command also?
I presume that it is ok to close the Terminal window now too.

Taking your advise, I have Bookmarked the viewtopic.php?f=141&t=67502 topic and will refer to it in the future for my update/upgrades.
Thanks again. I look forward to your response.

Patriot2135
Erin Go Bragh
Each body is created for a life peculiar to its purpose. Therefore, when compelled to tasks beyond its wont, it may labor awkwardly.
patriot2135
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby patriot2135 on Mon May 16, 2011 6:32 pm

@proxima_centauri
@zerozero

Ok. If I would have just waited a couple of min. longer, I wouldn't have needed to make the previous post. Everything looks good.
It appears that my system is fully updated and working as expected.
Once again thank you for all your help.

I am marking this post SOLVED.

I really respect the volume of accurate information in this Forum.

Cheers

_________________________________________________________________EDIT_________________________________________________________________
Well, I would mark this post as SOLVED if I knew how?
I thought it was as simple as selecting an option that said something like "Mark this post as SOLVED" but I can't find anything like that.
Help!?
Erin Go Bragh
Each body is created for a life peculiar to its purpose. Therefore, when compelled to tasks beyond its wont, it may labor awkwardly.
patriot2135
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby zerozero on Mon May 16, 2011 11:58 pm

hi,
to mark the thread solved go to your first post of the thread, click edit and add solved to the title, then submit;

the error you got was because you had the terminal using apt, and only one instance of apt can be running at one time;

if apt update && apt dist-upgrade went though without errors, the second command is not needed

enjoy LMDE
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6477
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Fix broken packages error when trying to apply updates.

Postby casey972oo on Tue May 17, 2011 2:02 am

this problem is ... [solved] ! ... three-times already ! ... first read ! ... before you post your Question ! ...
casey972oo
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:26 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest