Error updating LMDE

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Error updating LMDE

Postby airforcefalco on Fri Jun 03, 2011 9:02 am

Here is the message I am getting running the update manager:

E: Encountered a section with no Package: header
E: Problem with MergeList /var/lib/apt/lists/packages.linuxmint.com_dists_debian_import_i18n_Translation-en
E: The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

I went to information and this is what it said:

++ Launching mintUpdate in root mode
++ Starting refresh
++ Auto-refresh timer is going to sleep for 15 minutes, 0 hours and 0 days
-- Error in checkAPT.py, could not refresh the list of packages

I've tried manually installing the updates but that doesnt work either. I've also tried to google the problem and I havent found a solution.

Thank you for your time!
airforcefalco
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 8:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Error updating LMDE

Postby tdockery97 on Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:28 am

I think that may be a problem affecting all of Debian Testing. I downloaded and installed straight Debian Testing from the weekly builds yesterday and when I ran sudo apt-get update I got the error you described, but with the Debian repos rather than Mint:

So it's not a Mint-specific problem. I haven't tried it yet, but I found this possible solution:
http://www.go2linux.org/problem-upgradi ... kage-cache

So the command line fix is the following:
Code: Select all
sudo rm /var/lib/apt/lists/* -vf


Hope it works for you.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4917
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Error updating LMDE

Postby airforcefalco on Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:08 pm

Well it did work, I am able to update without getting that error, but now the problem is that it displays nothing. No text or anything. I'm going to try some basic troubleshooting and see if I can fix it.


Thank you for the help, it was much appreciated!!
airforcefalco
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 8:46 am


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests