Is it safe to update LMD?

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby tushargok on Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:14 pm

I'm returning user of LMD. Last time (Just when it was released first time) I used LMD for a month and when I continued to keep my system updated it one day suddenly changed everything from Mint UI to default Debian. I've now installed the latest LMD download, it is showing me 1000+ updates are available. Is it safe to keep system updated? I do not want to loose the Mint theme, changes with the default debian one.
tushargok
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:37 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby nunol on Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:36 pm

It should be safe but check first here before updating: viewtopic.php?f=141&t=67502
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby rob2uk on Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:41 pm

I'm running fully updated copies of LMDE on 3 separate PCs all with completely different hardware configurations, and all installed within the last week.

The only update problem I had was down to a daft error on my part - I was so used to using the main edition that I added Ubuntu PPAs to LMDE :oops:
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)
rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby tushargok on Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:59 pm

Thanks a lot for your reply. After reading your reply I've decided that I'll take a chance and will run the full update. I hope it will be smooth one!
tushargok
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:37 am

Re: Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby aljoriz on Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:13 pm

a few reminder if you are using the terminal to update via
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade


a. you may encounter text files in the terminal informing you of changes and pressing the enter button won't help but press "q" instead.

b. When a configuration file is updated you will be asked to use the maintainers version or retain what you have. Try to read, before pressing anything. I should know as stupidity made my installation go pffft!
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests