LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby twa on Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:36 pm

Hi,
my LMDE was installed since its first release last september 2010 so I do not see any need to install the new 201109 iso.
still have repos pointing to LATEST but did not make any update since I saw first warnings for update pack 2 vs update pack 3
so am in stdy -by awaiting for the outcoming of the update pack3 and only then will change repos accordingly.
:D
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby ferri on Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:31 am

Mr. B wrote:This is how i understood it:

1: Install LMDE 201109

2: After the installation do NOT update and turn off the multimedia and security repo.

3: Wait until Update pack 3 is released and follow the instructions that might come with the announcement.


Aleluja. :D
ferri
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 4:20 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby Orographic on Wed Sep 21, 2011 2:02 am

Is it best not to install anything from synaptic ( I want to install Kino, Chromium and ms fonts) as well? Or is it just directly related to updates?
Orographic
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby Intio on Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:42 am

Is it best not to install anything from synaptic ( I want to install Kino, Chromium and ms fonts) as well? Or is it just directly related to updates?


It's just the updates, installing software that uses Multimedia and Security deps that aren't in your update list is fine.
Asus Eee 701 Netbook - 2GB OCZ RAM
Debian Edition - Xfce
Intio
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:16 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby Orographic on Wed Sep 21, 2011 7:10 pm

Cheers mate, I've gone with appye's sources list for now and will keep an eye on the forums and this thread. I find Kino great for a basic video editor, better than anything in Windows. I use it often:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PU7nfxBDdys
Orographic
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby sgtguthrie on Wed Sep 21, 2011 9:26 pm

I was feeling adventurous so i switched to the incoming repos, and it's almost perfect. My only issue is no Eclipse in the repos. I'll switch back to latest when the repos are fixed.
sgtguthrie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:46 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby zerozero on Wed Sep 21, 2011 9:43 pm

for eclipse check this topic
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby shawnjgoff on Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:48 am

Oy... I've been having repo problems for a long time. I finally decided to fix it.

The refresh kept giving me lots of errors about not being able to download from packages.linuxmint.com, so I went looking for a new sources.list. I saw appye's posted earlier in this thread; I'm still having the same problem: can't get anything from packages.linuxmint.com or debian.linuxmint.com. Later, I saw the info about the "Update Pack Info" button; I tried that, and it's not doing anything.

I killed mintupdate and started it from the command line to get its stderr, and here's what I see:

Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintUpdate/mintUpdate.py", line 1190, in open_pack_info
    html = urllib2.urlopen(url)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 126, in urlopen
    return _opener.open(url, data, timeout)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 391, in open
    response = self._open(req, data)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 409, in _open
    '_open', req)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 369, in _call_chain
    result = func(*args)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 1170, in http_open
    return self.do_open(httplib.HTTPConnection, req)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/urllib2.py", line 1145, in do_open
    raise URLError(err)
urllib2.URLError: <urlopen error [Errno 101] Network is unreachable>


I do have network connectivity, using standard NetworkManager, so I don't know why that is showing unreachable. Any ideas?
shawnjgoff
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:37 am

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby michaelzap on Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:37 pm

ferri wrote:
Mr. B wrote:This is how i understood it:

1: Install LMDE 201109

2: After the installation do NOT update and turn off the multimedia and security repo.

3: Wait until Update pack 3 is released and follow the instructions that might come with the announcement.


Aleluja. :D

Er. Is this really what we're supposed to do? Not update at all?

I've been trying to do a fresh installation and apply all updates, but I've borked the system and had to reinstall twice now. What I'd like to do is to track the Debian testing repos but keep the Mint repos available as well. I don't think that I need or want to use the Mint Updater or Update Packs. I've done this in the past, but this time it's not working at all.

Who has this working on the latest LMDE?

What I would think would work is to delete everything in /etc/apt/preferences and change /etc/apt/sources.list to this:
Code: Select all
## DEBIAN
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free

## LMDE
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
#deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free

I'm commenting out the line with the LMDE "latest" repo, since that seems to be in conflict with the Debian repos, right?

Then I would like to disable the Mint Updater and update normally using sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get dist-upgrade.

Any reason this would not work? If so, how can I make it work? Maybe I should just jump to sid and that will straighten things out?
michaelzap
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:32 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby zerozero on Sat Sep 24, 2011 7:15 pm

michaelzap wrote: What I'd like to do is to track the Debian testing repos but keep the Mint repos available as well. I don't think that I need or want to use the Mint Updater or Update Packs.

if this is what you want, the sources.list in your post are fine 8)
now you should be aware of a few things:
- you are going to have a first big update (new kernel included)
- you should do the updates frequently (daily would be ideal)
- as you said, using dist-upgrade
- follow the breakages thread :lol:
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby michaelzap on Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:47 pm

zerozero wrote:
michaelzap wrote: What I'd like to do is to track the Debian testing repos but keep the Mint repos available as well. I don't think that I need or want to use the Mint Updater or Update Packs.

if this is what you want, the sources.list in your post are fine 8)
now you should be aware of a few things:
- you are going to have a first big update (new kernel included)
- you should do the updates frequently (daily would be ideal)
- as you said, using dist-upgrade
- follow the breakages thread :lol:

Thanks for your reply.

Update daily? Why? I've actually been tracking testing on this computer since it became wheezy (on #! XFCE), and I was only updating once every week or two and never had a problem.

Definitely a good idea to check the breakages thread (and the Debian forums, and the weather) before upgrading, although usually I can scan the list of operations and packages and know whether I should be concerned or not.
michaelzap
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:32 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby zerozero on Sat Sep 24, 2011 10:01 pm

the main reason been that testing has a high rate of pks updates per day (as you experience in your # install) updating daily you can filter easily what's arriving and from where the problems came (if any), over a week you can have +100 pkgs and would be harder to pin-point the culprit;
but in the end of the day, what works for you :D
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby michaelzap on Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:24 am

zerozero wrote:
michaelzap wrote: What I'd like to do is to track the Debian testing repos but keep the Mint repos available as well. I don't think that I need or want to use the Mint Updater or Update Packs.

if this is what you want, the sources.list in your post are fine 8)
now you should be aware of a few things:
- you are going to have a first big update (new kernel included)
- you should do the updates frequently (daily would be ideal)
- as you said, using dist-upgrade
- follow the breakages thread :lol:

Actually, updating this way broke sudo, which caused the update to fail spectacularly, which broke pretty much everything. I was able to recover the system by using sudo -i instead and completing the updates. Kind of a major glitch!
michaelzap
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:32 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby michaelzap on Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:27 am

michaelzap wrote:Actually, updating this way broke sudo, which caused the update to fail spectacularly, which broke pretty much everything. I was able to recover the system by using sudo -i instead and completing the updates. Kind of a major glitch!

And Nautilus is still broken...hmm...
EDIT: Nevermind. Encfs had just unmounted my home directory during the update. Once I remounted it Nautilus is working again normally.
michaelzap
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:32 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby Mr. B on Sun Sep 25, 2011 1:42 pm

michaelzap wrote:
ferri wrote:
Mr. B wrote:This is how i understood it:

1: Install LMDE 201109

2: After the installation do NOT update and turn off the multimedia and security repo.

3: Wait until Update pack 3 is released and follow the instructions that might come with the announcement.


Aleluja. :D

Er. Is this really what we're supposed to do? Not update at all?



That's what it says, isn't it? :wink:

Those who have LMDE 201109 pointing at and using it with Latest should do so. I actually posted that to stop the discussions and confusion amongst some LMDE 201109 user. On IRC, the blog and i believe even here on the forum, i read that people are confused about what to do.

Pointing at Latest and want to keep a more stable system? Do as has been told and wait for update pack 3. Wanna try it already through Incoming with the chance of breakage.... go ahead. :mrgreen:
User avatar
Mr. B
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:03 am

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby michaelzap on Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:42 pm

Mr. B wrote:
michaelzap wrote:
ferri wrote:Er. Is this really what we're supposed to do? Not update at all?



That's what it says, isn't it? :wink:

Those who have LMDE 201109 pointing at and using it with Latest should do so. I actually posted that to stop the discussions and confusion amongst some LMDE 201109 user. On IRC, the blog and i believe even here on the forum, i read that people are confused about what to do.

Pointing at Latest and want to keep a more stable system? Do as has been told and wait for update pack 3. Wanna try it already through Incoming with the chance of breakage.... go ahead. :mrgreen:

I guess I'm not used to a rolling distro that I can't update. I realize that this is a temporary glitch, but I want the new kernel and other packages. I think I'll be better off just tracking testing and only using LMDE as an additional repo, so it would be good to have the official word from the maintainers as to which Mint repo can be safely used in addition to testing (or sid).
michaelzap
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:32 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby gavinhc on Sun Sep 25, 2011 5:44 pm

michaelzap wrote:I guess I'm not used to a rolling distro that I can't update. I realize that this is a temporary glitch, but I want the new kernel and other packages. I think I'll be better off just tracking testing and only using LMDE as an additional repo, so it would be good to have the official word from the maintainers as to which Mint repo can be safely used in addition to testing (or sid).

If you want to use LMDE tracking the Debian testing repos, you can easily do that by setting your sources.list to look like the default from the 201012 (Gnome) or 201104 (xfce) spins of LMDE. That looked something like this:
Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free

I have been using this set of repos since January with no major problems.
AMD Athlon II X4 630, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 430 - 64-bit LMDE (Gnome3) tracking testing, 64-bit Archlinux, 32-bit Windows XP
Aluminum Unibody MacBook - MacOS X 10.7 "Lion"
gavinhc
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:53 pm
Location: Canada

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby michaelzap on Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:00 pm

gavinhc wrote:
michaelzap wrote:I guess I'm not used to a rolling distro that I can't update. I realize that this is a temporary glitch, but I want the new kernel and other packages. I think I'll be better off just tracking testing and only using LMDE as an additional repo, so it would be good to have the official word from the maintainers as to which Mint repo can be safely used in addition to testing (or sid).

If you want to use LMDE tracking the Debian testing repos, you can easily do that by setting your sources.list to look like the default from the 201012 (Gnome) or 201104 (xfce) spins of LMDE. That looked something like this:
Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free

I have been using this set of repos since January with no major problems.

That's exactly what I did, but sudo got borked when I updated and I was lucky to have figured out that was the problem and to have been able to fix it (see my post above). Updating from the latest LMDE image does not work correctly with these repos, and can leave you with an unbootable system. I think I'll be fine now that I've gotten past that one glitch, but others should be warned.
michaelzap
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:32 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby zerozero on Sun Sep 25, 2011 7:05 pm

michaelzap: the issue is not updating from the latest (201108 or 201109) iso to the testing repos, the issue is the sudo update that comes with it, and that we in testing got it more than 20 days ago viewtopic.php?f=198&t=67502&start=1120
eventually, if you didn't fix your PATH, your sudo is still broken.
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE 201109 - Important INFO

Postby Mr. B on Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:51 pm

michaelzap wrote:I guess I'm not used to a rolling distro that I can't update. I realize that this is a temporary glitch, but I want the new kernel and other packages. I think I'll be better off just tracking testing and only using LMDE as an additional repo, so it would be good to have the official word from the maintainers as to which Mint repo can be safely used in addition to testing (or sid).


Then i still wonder what you're going to do when Debian Testing hits the freezing stage for several weeks or even months afaik and a few or maybe to no updates will be released.... except for the release-critical bug fixes in Debian.

6.5.1 What about "testing"? How is it `frozen'?

When the "testing" distribution is mature enough, the release manager starts `freezing' it. The normal propagation delays are increased to ensure that as little as possible new bugs from "unstable" enter "testing".

After a while, the "testing" distribution becomes truly `frozen'. This means that all new packages that are to propagate to the "testing" are held back, unless they include release-critical bug fixes. The "testing" distribution can also remain in such a deep freeze during the so-called `test cycles', when the release is imminent.

We keep a record of bugs in the "testing" distribution that can hold off a package from being released, or bugs that can hold back the whole release. For details, please see current testing release information.

Once that bug count lowers to maximum acceptable values, the frozen "testing" distribution is declared "stable" and released with a version number.

With each new release, the previous "stable" distribution becomes obsolete and moves to the archive. For more information please see Debian archive.


http://www.debian.org/doc/FAQ/ch-ftparchives

With that LMDE isn't really a fully true rolling distro imho, correct me if i'm wrong... i'm also still learning stuff. But... it's still a great distro which i love to use.

Sorry for going offtopic guys and ladies. :)
User avatar
Mr. B
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:03 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests