Is it possible to update to package 3 with no kernel v3?

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Is it possible to update to package 3 with no kernel v3?

Postby khaos on Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:40 am

Hi guys. I've installed Linux Mint LMDE in my Acer Aspire d255. The system didn't recognised the 2nd core of intel atom and I have to remove linux headers/images 486 and to install 686 instead of them. So, when I changed the repos and tried to setup all updates/upgrades I see that the system didn't install linux headers for kernel 3! I have the 2.6.39-2-686-pae. Is that because I have changed from 486 to 686?
What I must do in order to check if the package #3 is installed succesfully?

In the Update Manager it says: Latest Update Pack used by this system: 3
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Is it possible to update to package 3 with no kernel v3?

Postby Gerd50 on Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:40 pm

If the up manager says you have up3 you have up3 :) For kernel 3 you have to install the headers manually. It has nothing
to do with up3, it's a kernel image error.
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: Is it possible to update to package 3 with no kernel v3?

Postby khaos on Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:13 am

Thanks for your answer but in the blog I read:

n Update Pack 3, two drastic changes occur:

> There’s a brand new kernel 3.0

It's not installed automatically? I'm confused. I saw that it's in package manager but I thought that it will be installed automatically
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Is it possible to update to package 3 with no kernel v3?

Postby Gerd50 on Fri Sep 30, 2011 9:51 am

You wrote:
I see that the system didn't install linux headers for kernel 3!


Kernel 3 arrived in testing some weeks ago. The kernel image installed automatically but without headers. So the headers
must be installed manually.
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: Is it possible to update to package 3 with no kernel v3?

Postby khaos on Mon Oct 03, 2011 11:22 am

Ok. If I understood correctly you mean that the packages are shown to package manager for installation but are not already installed?

Thanks
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Is it possible to update to package 3 with no kernel v3?

Postby Transitman on Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:57 am

khaos wrote:Ok. If I understood correctly you mean that the packages are shown to package manager for installation but are not already installed?

Thanks


The kernel is installed, but you have to go to synaptic and search for the Linux headers for 3.0.
When you input the term "linux-headers" hit search and it will bring up the list of headers for the 3.0 kernel.
Check each header you need to install and then proceed to install said headers.
Once it is completed, exit out of synaptic and reboot the computer, and once it gets to "grub", you should see a list of installed linux-headers, with the 3.0 headers being at the top of the list.
Let the computer boot normally, and once it is back online you should be using the latest 3.0 kernel.
Transitman
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:48 am

Re: Is it possible to update to package 3 with no kernel v3?

Postby khaos on Tue Oct 04, 2011 12:14 pm

Thanks for the help :)
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests