linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby DougB on Sat Oct 29, 2011 8:34 am

I'm running LinuxMint Debian and recently updated to Linux 3.0.0-1-amd64 and got this message:
" In the new version you may require additional firmware files:

nouveau: nouveau/fuc41ad, nouveau/fuc41ac, nouveau/fuc409d, nouveau/fuc409c, nouveau/nvc4_fuc41ad, nouveau/nvc4_fuc41ac, nouveau/nvc4_fuc409d, nouveau/nvc4_fuc409c, nouveau/nvc3_fuc41ad, nouveau/nvc3_fuc41ac, nouveau/nvc3_fuc409d, nouveau/nvc3_fuc409c, nouveau/nvc0_fuc41ad, nouveau/nvc0_fuc41ac, nouveau/nvc0_fuc409d, nouveau/nvc0_fuc409c
............ You may need to reconfigure the package manager to include the contrib and non-free sections of the package archive ..........."

Software Manager has main packages, upstream packages and imported packages enabled. Other Packages has these entries:
http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest multimedia testing main non-free
http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest security testing/updates main contrib non-free

It's not clear to me which parts of the package manager need contrib and non-free sections adding.
What would be the complete APT lines I need to add?
How would I then install all the nouveau firmware files?

Thanks,

Doug
DougB
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:14 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby proxima_centauri on Sat Oct 29, 2011 8:54 am

* Moved to LMDE forum

It may have just been a warning.

Your sources.list should look like this
Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3968
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby DougB on Sat Oct 29, 2011 1:56 pm

I added the line:
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import

and now have the following error message:

W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian/main amd64 Packages (/var/lib/apt/lists/packages.linuxmint.com_dists_debian_main_binary-amd64_Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian/upstream amd64 Packages (/var/lib/apt/lists/packages.linuxmint.com_dists_debian_upstream_binary-amd64_Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian/import amd64 Packages (/var/lib/apt/lists/packages.linuxmint.com_dists_debian_import_binary-amd64_Packages)

??

Doug
DougB
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:14 am

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby proxima_centauri on Sat Oct 29, 2011 2:44 pm

Are you sure the repo wasn't there already? The warning is saying it is a duplicate entry.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3968
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby DougB on Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:45 am

I suppose it must have been. I originally thought that they could have been present because main upstream and imported were enabled in the Package Manager. But there was no line saying "deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import", so being a newbie I assumed it needed to be added.
I hope the warnings don't mean anything has been screwed up.
I'm still not used to understanding that a message ".... *may* need to be added" doesn't necessarily mean that "... *will* need to be added" or that "... isn't present already"
DougB
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:14 am

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby twa on Mon Oct 31, 2011 5:26 pm

DougB,
change your sources.list as said by proxima_centauri
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free

save and close the file
then:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

cheers
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby DougB on Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:39 am

Working in Package Manager, I don't see how to do
"Code: Select all"
I'm confused.
Running
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
in a terminal produces the same error messages and suggests I run "sudo apt-get update". Doing so repeats the error messages.

Am I screwing things up or just banging against repeated warnings?
DougB
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:14 am

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby twa on Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:56 pm

DougB
open the terminal to change your sources.list:
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

must be like this:
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free

then from terminal:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

cheers

p.s. the Code Select All is used in the forum when U insert a code to be executed in the terminal.
the green code is what U must type in the terminal.
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby twa on Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:05 pm

DougB,
did U install update pack3 ??
http://blog.linuxmint.com/?paged=4
cheers
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby DougB on Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:36 am

Twa, thanks for the explanation of Code:Select; it was something totally new to me. The penny is finally dropping!
I was using Upgrade 3 but the sources list had got completely messed up: most entries were duplicated; I'd somehow added deb-src sources; and the multimedia sources had got lost.
The list is now cleaned up and I've repeated the updating and upgrading.
All is well again.

Many thanks again for your patience :D
DougB
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:14 am

Re: linux 3 - newbie query about adding sources

Postby twa on Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:54 pm

DougB
U R welcome...bravo !!!
:D
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests