[SOLVED] How to change face browser icon by GUI in GDM?

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] How to change face browser icon by GUI in GDM?

Postby narnie on Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:39 pm

Hello,

After an upgrade to Gnome 3, I can no longer find a GUI way to change the icon as there is no "About Me" anymore with Gnome 3, it seems.

I know that this can be done manually by adding an "Icon=image" in /var/lib/AccountsService/users, but for my Gui users and those without admin, this is rather difficult. Does anyone know how a non-experienced user can change their login image under GDM?

Regards,
Narnie
Last edited by narnie on Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
narnie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:09 am
Location: Texas, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to change face browser icon by GUI in GDM? No "About

Postby proxima_centauri on Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:43 pm

You can change a user's icon in "User Accounts".
You can access this via System Settings or by clicking the icon by your name in the gnome-shell.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3975
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: How to change face browser icon by GUI in GDM? No "About

Postby narnie on Fri Nov 11, 2011 5:53 pm

proxima_centauri wrote:You can change a user's icon in "User Accounts".
You can access this via System Settings or by clicking the icon by your name in the gnome-shell.


Thank so much! I saw "Users and Groups" but my blind eyes never saw User Accounts. Thanks again. I figured I was missing something ridiculous simple.

Kindly,
Narnie
narnie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:09 am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: How to change face browser icon by GUI in GDM? No "About

Postby narnie on Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:03 pm

proxima_centauri wrote:You can change a user's icon in "User Accounts".
You can access this via System Settings or by clicking the icon by your name in the gnome-shell.


It is strange that "User Accounts" doesn't show up in my menu listings under Activities>Applications, including under All. It does find it if typing in for a search. This is how I missed it. However, I understand why this is as it is part of the Systems Settings.

Narnie
narnie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:09 am
Location: Texas, USA


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests