mintmenu error after update

Post your update and upgrade related errors here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

mintmenu error after update

Postby lovebluesky on Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:54 am

mintmenu error after update several days ago, the icon was lost in the lower left corner, and the error massages are as follows, hope some one can help me (i am a linux mint debian user) .

Code: Select all
无法初始化插件applications:traceback (most recent call last)
file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/mintmenu.py", line 333,
in populateplugins
myplugin.do_plugin()

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 1925, in do_plugin
self. todos()

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 554, in todos
self.buildbottonlist()

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 572, in buildbottonlist
self.updateboxes(false)

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 1572, in updateboxes
newcategorylist=selfcategorylist()

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 1719, in buildcategorylist
for child in menu.directory.get_contents():

attribute error: 'none type' object has no attribute
'get_contents'
lovebluesky
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 10:10 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mintmenu error after update

Postby Oscar799 on Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:16 am

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8874
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: mintmenu error after update

Postby viking777 on Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:31 am

lovebluesky wrote:mintmenu error after update several days ago, the icon was lost in the lower left corner, and the error massages are as follows, hope some one can help me (i am a linux mint debian user) .

Code: Select all
无法初始化插件applications:traceback (most recent call last)
file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/mintmenu.py", line 333,
in populateplugins
myplugin.do_plugin()

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 1925, in do_plugin
self. todos()

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 554, in todos
self.buildbottonlist()

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 572, in buildbottonlist
self.updateboxes(false)

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 1572, in updateboxes
newcategorylist=selfcategorylist()

file“user/lib/linuxmint/mintmenu/plugins/applications.py",
line 1719, in buildcategorylist
for child in menu.directory.get_contents():

attribute error: 'none type' object has no attribute
'get_contents'


Yep that is right. I posted a bug about this roughly a week ago, although my error wasn't quite the same as yours. No response yet. Luckily for me I use either gnome-shell or fluxbox as a window manager so I don't actually need mintmenu, but it is a very handy thing to have around despite that and for me it 'defines' Linux Mint, it makes it what it is (or what it was) and certainly needs be working on a plain Gnome system, but it isn't, at least not for me - or you. Sorry I can't help you with it, if I could I would get it running on my own system!
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: mintmenu error after update

Postby lovebluesky on Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:09 am

viking777 wrote:
lovebluesky wrote:mintmenu error after update several days ago, the icon was lost in the lower left corner, and the error massages are as follows, hope some one can help me (i am a linux mint debian user) .


Yep that is right. I posted a bug about this roughly a week ago, although my error wasn't quite the same as yours. No response yet. Luckily for me I use either gnome-shell or fluxbox as a window manager so I don't actually need mintmenu, but it is a very handy thing to have around despite that and for me it 'defines' Linux Mint, it makes it what it is (or what it was) and certainly needs be working on a plain Gnome system, but it isn't, at least not for me - or you. Sorry I can't help you with it, if I could I would get it running on my own system!


ok,thank you for your detailed answers, then the only ting that i can do is waiting
lovebluesky
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 10:10 pm


Return to Update/Upgrade Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests